PDA

View Full Version : Wings Aloft Install



Riley88
12-12-2014, 06:11 PM
Hey there. My D is recently in the shop @ dmc in huntingtonbeach ( thanks guys!) I am going to try to save myself some cash , as one of the things i wanted to install of was wings aloft. After talking to Danny Botkin about it, he said its sort of a major bish to do an install. I was curious if anyone here has done the installation themselves? What tools do i need besides solider equipment and wire cutters? I searched the forums found a few threads but, if anyone has pics or advice id LOVE to know as i will be doing this probably early January if i can. Thanks and regards,


-Blake R.

kenny
12-12-2014, 06:32 PM
Hi Blake, if you have patience, basic tools and like working on your car this is an easy job but can eat up a bit of time. The kit comes with instructions.
I installed mine about 5 years ago. IIRC you need to drill a couple of holes in the inner door skin.

TTait
01-24-2015, 12:24 AM
You can likely do it yourself as Toby provides clear and complete instructions. I did last spring.

There are options and choices along the way - give Toby a call if you are not sure what to do.

Note that you must be able to walk up to the car, and pull up on the door handle and have the door open unassisted before you start. if the door does not pop open easily the door poppers will not change that - they just pull the release for you.

Its a lot of work to put in the system, and then not have it work the way you wanted to - start with the basics and get your doors perfect before you start.

Patrick C
01-24-2015, 04:30 PM
start with the basics and get your doors perfect before you start.

THIS. It took me many years to get my doors opening flawlessly enough for the remote door openers to work.

Ryan S.
01-25-2015, 03:12 PM
When I installed mine, it wasn't easy, mainly because I had a faulty unit. Instruction was good but I wish I had more pictures. I ended up installing and reinstalling like three times and almost gave up, thinking that it was me. Once I got a replacement unit, it worked like a magic.
I would get an electrical wire climping tool, if you don't have one already.

Trstno1
02-14-2015, 09:47 PM
When I installed mine, it wasn't easy, mainly because I had a faulty unit. Instruction was good but I wish I had more pictures. I ended up installing and reinstalling like three times and almost gave up, thinking that it was me. Once I got a replacement unit, it worked like a magic.
I would get an electrical wire climping tool, if you don't have one already.

Is there anyone that would be willing to post the installation instructions for the wings aloft system? I would sure like to look them over before committing to the purchase of the system.

Who sells the kit?

Ryan S.
02-14-2015, 11:32 PM
Contact Toby. He is the man.
http://www.delorean-parts.com/

TTait
02-17-2015, 03:43 PM
Toby should send you a sample set of instructions.

The problem with posting them on line is that his product changes periodically depending on the configuration of the alarm system unit he is sourcing at any given time. The instructions are updated every time he swaps out for a newer module.

If one is posted here it could really confuse someone in the future if they have a slightly different unit.

There is some drilling to install solenoid modules, but he provides templates.

Door panels all come off.

You will likely have to remove the rear bulkhead board to access wiring.

Lots of wiring - in some cases splicing into wires on the underside of the fuse box.

Depending upon which options you choose you may have to remove the t panel on top.

The instructions are well written - but they are very long. They will read as intimidating when you look at the whole set. Really, you only do one step at a time.

If you can do a good job splicing, connecting, labeling and dressing wires, you will do fine. If you don't do good wiring work (you prefer twisting wires together and using electrical tape) - you should not attempt it.

If your doors do not open effortlessly, and if the automatic door locks are not working perfectly, then you have to get that working before you can install the door poppers.

T

DMCSPRINT
04-07-2016, 04:58 PM
I have my Delorean at a shop now getting the Wings a loft Elite system installed and they are having problems getting it to work. They said they called for Toby a few days ago and have never heard back. I emailed all there emails earlier today so hopefully they contact the shop so I can get this resolved. Good luck


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

smcguiga
05-04-2016, 11:44 PM
I just finished installing the basic system. It wasn't that hard but it did take a lot of time. I still have to figure out why the doors won't pop on the first try. It usually takes a couple of clicks before they open.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdZW_RyZ50Y


--Steven

Riley88
05-05-2016, 02:33 AM
Broke from buying a home at the moment, trying to save to buy a new front end. Who resurrected this thread lol. never did get wings aloft=/

iflights
05-05-2016, 08:26 AM
I just finished installing the basic system. It wasn't that hard but it did take a lot of time. I still have to figure out why the doors won't pop on the first try. It usually takes a couple of clicks before they open.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdZW_RyZ50Y


--Steven

Thank you for posting. I have been very curious about this upgrade.

FPBBrandon
05-05-2016, 12:29 PM
I bought the Elite kit from Toby recently and hope to install before DCS. I'll try and add color here as I go. The car has a bit of a ways to go before I can start the wiring though...


41866

smcguiga
05-05-2016, 11:11 PM
I bought the Elite kit from Toby recently and hope to install before DCS. I'll try and add color here as I go. The car has a bit of a ways to go before I can start the wiring though...


41866

Is that a big poster of the time circuits? Where did you get that? 8)