PDA

View Full Version : Why EFI?

Redsquall
02-12-2015, 09:49 PM
What are the main reasons to going EFI?

AugustneverEnds
02-13-2015, 06:51 AM
I'm not an expert on this subject by any means but from my perspective the top reason for converting to an EFI set-up are to eliminate some K-Jet parts (accumulator, fuel distributor, frequency valve) which lessens the likelihood of suffering hot and cold start problems. Some of these items are getting more difficult to obtain over time. From a performance view EFI allows for adjustments to be made more easily (running software as opposed to manually adjusting and swapping parts)

Several members here have already performed EFI swaps, Opethmike and Spittybug readily come to mind. Read their threads to gain some valuable insights. Oh and welcome to the forum :wave2:

dn010
02-13-2015, 09:18 AM
I went to EFI because I wanted updated technology as well as the updated even-fire PRV version of the engine which I guess isn't a requirement since you can add EFI to the original engine. But IMO, the even-fire runs extremely smooth compared to the original engine. I also like the fact that you can manipulate settings easily with EFI. Parts are cheaper because you don't have to get DeLorean specific stuff, it is just getting over the expense of installation that you need to get over. I didn't have many issues with K-Jet in my 13 years of ownership, so that was not a main reason for me but it was nice to get rid of that stuff to be truthful...

Jonathan
02-13-2015, 10:56 AM
My car is still the stock k-jet. I have not had really any big problems with it and have never given much thought to going EFI.

And maybe that's really all it boils down to for some. If you've had problems with your k-jet system, you might start looking for alternatives. The system does not take well to having old gas sit in it for long periods of time.