PDA

View Full Version : Bob Brandy's fullsize windows

dmcjohn
08-11-2011, 10:45 AM
Hi lads,

I've tried before (I think on the old DMCtalk) to try and get some proper pictures of the custom windows Bob put in his car. This is the best I found so far, but still not great.

http://www.offto55.com/offto55.com/Replicas_files/Picture%205.jpg

Does anyone have details on this conversion? I've heard conflicting stories - some say they are electric and go all the way down, then I heard elsewhere they are manual sliding windows which slide to the rear?

Thanks,
John

TTait
08-11-2011, 11:11 AM
I have no direct knowledge of that conversion, but I don't think you can drop the glass.

While it looks like its possible to get a full sized piece of glass into the lower half of the doors mass, it would first require heroic reworking of the door structure to do it, but thats not the deal killer as I see it.

If you think back to physics class you will recall that the amount of force a lever transfers depends not just on the weight pushing down on it, but how far that weight is from the fulcrum (pivot). If you take that already heavy piece of glass and then move it another 2' or so farther out from the hinges (when the door is open) you probably nearly double its weight, in terms of force on the torsion bar. That is, with the window down the door would feel significantly heavier than if it was up.

If you tried to balance the torsion bar to compensate for the window in its down position, it would break, but even if it didn't - if you opened the door with the window up it would shoot up like a rocket.

Our drop glass is much smaller overall, and constitutes less of a shift in weight.

That would leave you two options then, either safety interlocks that would prevent the door from being opened unless the window was mostly closed, or installing some kind of hydraulic door lift.