PDA

View Full Version : General New front end issues: Torn steering rack boot, tie rod ends, and leaking brake fluid

lsoasey
03-21-2015, 11:32 PM
After a long stretch of not getting work done on my car (winter and too many business trips), I finally had the time to finish replacing all the coolant hoses on the car. I finished with hoses at the front end of the car... In the process of taking the fuel tank closing plate off and working around the hoses near the radiator I uncovered the following issues:

The repair list seem to be a never ending story. :-)

So, I've heard that it is not unusual for the fuel tank closing plate to be in bad shape. Is this one salvageable? Do I clean it up with a rotary wire brush to prep for re-coating? Now... The related question is if I have a master cylinder leak that also needs to be dealt with. I have no idea how long the closing plate has looked like this. I included a side shot of the servo unit and master cylinder. It looks like leak evidence to me, but I don't know if I need check further before ripping yet another component out of the car. Is it a clear that I'll need to replace the master cylinder based on what can be seen in this image?

The next issues is torn boots on the steering rack and tie rod ends. What can I do here? Does the rack have to be replaced? Or, can I clean this one up, repack with grease, and install new boots? (Looks like they are called "bellows" in the parts manual.) I assume the tie rod ends need to be completely replaced.

Thanks for any advice!
-Luke

Rich_NYS
03-22-2015, 12:00 AM
Your closing plate really doesn't look that bad it's definitely salvageable. Clean, prep & paint. I believe POR-15 is the popular choice, that's what I'll be using on mine.

DMC5180
03-22-2015, 12:05 AM