PDA

View Full Version : Tachyon Field Generator (wormhole emitter) 3D model for printing..

Timebender
11-11-2015, 03:31 PM
Hi guys.
In an attempt to find or buy a wormhole generator, I couldn't find either the original part used (and tried several industrial/electronics/military surplus stores), and didn't want to spend $500 simoleans on a resin one from people who make them.

So I figured it was time to learn how to model in AutoDesk Inventor and Fusion. This was my first attempt at 3D modeling this way, and it took about 5 hours over time (I know, that's super slow but I'm a beginner). I went off a bunch of photos Gary Weaver and I think Mark provided of the original screen used part with measurements. I made a schematic first in Illustrator to get it all pretty close, then started building this in 3D, using the measurements and then just eyeballing it.

So it's not 100% screen accurate. But it is free to all of you who want to either print it yourself or get it printed. You still have to do some model building, like drilling holes, adding the rubber grip, and so forth. This zip file has the whole thing, and then the parts broken out like the speaker screen, the back plate, the prongs, and the holder for the lights (one model you'll need to print twice).

It's close enough for a pro prop builder and the general public, but probably not screen-accurate enough for the certain folks. Like my R2, it's very passable, and to the average person who even knows it's there (unlike Mr. Fusion or the Flux Capacitor) they'll think it's real. I did not make models of the mounting plate or base. But I might.

For now, enjoy this and let me know how it works out for you.

Edit: I checked on Shapeways and altogether it would be about $326.98

http://dmctalk.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=37892&d=1447272586

nullset
11-11-2015, 06:04 PM
It would be great if you could post the model on thingiverse or a similar site. I understand if you're hesitant to though. Good work!