PDA

View Full Version : Transmission 5-Speed Left Axle Input Seal

Shark Pilot
04-22-2016, 09:22 PM
I know there has been a decent amount of information about this topic and I've garnered quite a bit from the following thread: http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?2569-CV-Joints-and-Lip-Seals/page7.

However, I have NEVER done this before and I have no idea what tools to use, how long this takes, how difficult it is or whom I should get the part(s) from. This leak is the ONLY leak I have on the car. It started out as one to two drops a month and now its one to two a week. It will only get worse so I need help and I can't afford to take it to anyone. I just repaired the left valve cover on it and have performed numerous repairs on the car myself so I'm mechanically able, but not savvy on this particular repair. Please help. The pics below are the only ones I could get that show the leak. It's very small obviously, but getting worse with time and use.

David T
04-22-2016, 09:38 PM
Very common and not too hard to fix. You have to remove the half-shaft, punch out the roll pin (make sure you position the flange so it has a clear shot out) pull the output flange off and pop out the seal. Avoid the temptation to mess with the large nut, it doesn't have to come out and you can mess up a very sensitive adjustment. If the flange has a groove worn into it you can replace it or put a "Speedi-Sleeve" on it. Pop a new seal in and reassemble. All of the vendors have the seals and the sleeves, not expensive. After you finish check the level in the transaxle.

Shark Pilot
04-22-2016, 10:08 PM