PDA

View Full Version : Which Delorean transmission is the most durable?

Chris Burns
03-26-2012, 08:33 PM
I know that both transmissions can have their issues, but which do you think is the most durable?

Manual?
or
Auto?

Massaku
03-26-2012, 09:33 PM
I believe the manual transmission is more durable than the auto.
The manuals can handle more power than the autos.
the autos from the factory have the transmission governor problem... I could be very wrong though :tongue_stick:

pezzonovante88
03-26-2012, 09:58 PM
I would imagine the manual is more durable. I'm far from a mechanic, but from my experience I've gathered that autos in any car are more likely to break and are easier to break AND are more expensive to fix. Not sure about the DeLorean, but I'd assume its the same in general.
Jeez, the auto trans. in my Jag (also used in V8 BMWs of the time) was quite a scary unit that required a full rebuild at ~75kms.

Chris Burns
03-26-2012, 10:14 PM
I'm going with the manual on this also (course you usually have to usually replace the clutch at least once) Lotus used a Renualt Transmission on the S4 and V8 Esprits. With the V8 ones they had to do some major beefing up of the clutch and downtune the engine slightly. The engine in the V8 Esprit was capable of 500hp, but was downtuned to 350hp to save the transmission.

The toughest auto transmission I have seen is the Chrysler 727 Tourqeflite used in the 1960's and early 70's. You can put some MAJOR power through that transmission.

Nothing wrong with an automatic Delorean though! They are great for cruising and for horrible traffic:nana1: PLus it gives you an option that most European sportscars at the time didn't have.

DeLorean
03-26-2012, 10:21 PM