PDA

View Full Version : Sanden SD AC Compressor Service Manual

Ron
06-11-2011, 12:03 AM

TTait
07-28-2011, 01:47 AM
OK, lets see if I understand what I'm seeing in section 4.2

Is this saying that if, for example, the ambient temperature is 100 degrees F, that the optimum high side pressure is 124 PSI? Seems high.

Bitsyncmaster
07-28-2011, 06:30 AM
OK, lets see if I understand what I'm seeing in section 4.2

Is this saying that if, for example, the ambient temperature is 100 degrees F, that the optimum high side pressure is 124 PSI? Seems high.

No. That chart show the static pressure of liquid R134a without the compressor running.

I would expect the high side pressure with it running at 100 deg F to be 200 to 300 PSI but there are many variables that change the high side pressure.

Henrik
09-29-2011, 02:32 PM
I am a former Application Engineer and Lab Manager with Sanden. After extensive testing with R134as retrofitted AC systems on test benches, in wind tunnels and on-the-road testing way back in 1990 - 1992 I presented Sanden's findings in a Society of Automotive Engineering paper in Detriot the following year. That's when R-12 to R134a retrofitting was a glowing hot topic.

Section 4.2 is a "bottomline" summary of that study so I am intricatally familiar with this topic and I will be happy to answer any related questions anyone may have.

BTW, I converted #1283 to R134a four years ago. For the compressor I used a drop-in Sanden SD7H15 replacement for the OEM R-12 SD-510. No bracket or hose connection mods were needed.

Bitsyncmaster
09-29-2011, 03:11 PM
I am a former Application Engineer and Lab Manager with Sanden. After extensive testing with R134as retrofitted AC systems on test benches, in wind tunnels and on-the-road testing way back in 1990 - 1992 I presented Sanden's findings in a Society of Automotive Engineering paper in Detriot the following year. That's when R-12 to R134a retrofitting was a glowing hot topic.