PDA

View Full Version : Wanted What questions do I ask a Delorean seller?

steve852
06-28-2011, 06:19 PM
Hi everyone, it's my first time here so nice to meet you all :). I'm looking to purchase a D and I've been doing some research. I'm from the UK but I think it's gonna be best to shop around from the states. There's a much wider selection over there and they seem to be in better quality. I can't really afford to go over there to view any car before I buy, so it's really gonna be a case of asking as many questions as possible, and asking for as many photos as necessary to decide whether the car I choose is the right one before I sign on the dotted line!

I'm a little out of my depth here on a techical level, so I'd like your opinion - what should I be asking potential sellers? I know I need to ask for photos of the chassis from different angles to check for rust and the condition, and also photos of the engine, but what else? I'd like to get together a list of questions and, if it's okay, post the answers here for you smart fellas to look at!

Cheers again, much appreciated,
Steve

Renee_1632
06-28-2011, 07:04 PM
One good place to start is a rough history of the car, and what work was done, especially if you're going to be a third owner, fourth, etc. You'll want to know if, say, first owner kept it in a shed for 2/3 of its life. Even if the second owner did extensive work, it's still possible there's something that was missed. But definitely get a list of all work done, and when.

I guess that's kind of obvious. But I forgot to ask, and wish I had.

Roman Legion
06-28-2011, 09:26 PM
I just hope when I get back from deployment and find a D, that someone knowledgeable in that local area will be nice enough to tag alone with me and give the car a check and generally keep me from being suckered into a shit deal.

Dangermouse
06-28-2011, 10:26 PM
Hi from me again.