PDA

View Full Version : General Explain the rear hub assembly to me

Stainless
06-30-2011, 03:39 PM
I'm trying to save time by not taking the other side apart just to compare how things are supposed to be. With that said, I am suspecting that the driver side rear hub bearing is bad. I have the hub carrier removed, and when I spin the outboard shaft in the bearing by hand, it has a lot of slop and it sounds like it is grinding.

I have to replace the whole hub carrier anyway due to damage, so I'm planning on replacing the bearing with a new one anyway, but I am planning on reusing the outboard shaft.

My question is, how does the outboard shaft come out of the bearing? Is the bearing pressed into the hub assembly and then the outboard shaft pressed into the bearing? I am a newb when it comes to DeLorean bearings, so pardon my ignorance. There's just zero information about this in the workshop manual. Let me know if there is a writeup on hub bearing replacement or if you know how to get the outboard shaft out of the bearing. Thanks.

tgraham
06-30-2011, 05:17 PM
The bearing is pressed into the hub carrier, then the outer shaft is pressed into the bearing (be sure you grip against the inner race for the last part or else you'll quickly ruin a perfectly good bearing).

To remove the old one (off the car, at least), you'll have to secure the carrier and press the drive shaft out. Every time I've done this, the bearing separates, leaving the outer race still in the hub carrier (easy enough with the drive shaft out of the way, just press it out too), the inner race still pressed onto the drive shaft (chisel it off or cut it off - just be careful), and small metal balls all over the place.

I think the pros do this with the carrier still in the car...

Travis

Stainless
06-30-2011, 06:00 PM