PDA

View Full Version : Wanted Have funds, need DeLorean..

PeterBiggerstaff
02-11-2013, 06:53 PM
Hi Guys,

Please don't dismiss this as another "I want a cheap DeLorean in mint condition" thread!

I live in New Zealand, and am serious about importing a DeLorean from the USA. I've been doing the research for over 2 years now, so I know what you get for your money. So far I have saved $20,000NZD which equates to roughly $18,000USD although its going to cost me around $4000USD to import to NZ.

On top of this I'm currently working as much overtime as I can, meaning I am putting away around $1,200USD per fortnight, plus a little more on the first of each month when I get my overtime pay.

So as you can see, I have the funds ready to go, I don't need any finance and I'm not a time waster!

Ultimately I'd like to purchase a DeLorean for around $20,000USD but thought I'd put some feelers out ahead of time in case a project car comes up in the meantime that I can restore, perhaps something in the $10,000 to $18,000 line.

My only real criteria are:
Panels must be undamaged, as it is not economically viable to import new panels (nearly $1500USD per panel)
Must be a manual
Must be drivable (for importation reasons)
Interior must be complete, but condition is unimportant
I would consider a painted DeLorean if the above criteria are met.

Any other repair work weather it be Engine, Suspension, Interior etc. I can do myself.

The other factor is of course the importation itself, I need to be able to work with someone who has the patience for me to arrange the importation, which means ebay isn't a good place for me to be looking. Also there is the "trust" issue, which is why I'd perfer to work with a dealer, but if someone here can vouch for a seller, that's ok with me too. The worst thing in the world would be sending over my hard earned money then get nothing in return!