PDA

View Full Version : Condenser Install

Evildeli
07-01-2011, 11:27 AM
Hey guys, I got a new condenser to install. I've been toying with the idea of either sending it off to a mechanic, or seeing if the DCF club is interested in installing it with me. I know 4th of July weekend is out of the question, but maybe some weekend in July. Anyone interested?

Mike C.
07-01-2011, 02:00 PM
Sounds fun, but moving my mom to NC later this month, so my weekends are pretty much full. Sorry cap'n!

Morpheus
07-01-2011, 06:12 PM
I have never done this before, but I will eventually end up doing it on mine so I'm in. I don't suppose your garage is air conditioned, is it?

Evildeli
07-06-2011, 10:21 AM
First off, my garage does not have ac, but you've been there before when we worked on the electrical and transmission. In the meantime I'm still talking to mechanics. I've already talked to James Espey who confirmed replacing the condenser takes about 3 hours. Here's my breakdown;

1. Mechanic #1. Diagnosed the issue after an inspection. Also has all the seals to fix the other leak near the dryer. Was suppose to call back after research into labor and procedure. I had to call him after no call back. Took 2 weeks to get him on the phone. May have been an issue where he was out of town on personal matters. Told me he'd finally get the research done and call me back. He still hasn't.

2. Mechanic #2. Would also do research and get back to me. I had to call them back after 2 weeks. They said it's no problem. Their rate is 79.50 and hour. I told them with replacing the condenser (3 hour) and vacuum(1 hour) and test, it should be around a 4 hour job. They said it will be all day. I replied, it should only be 4 hours. They reiterated, all day. I'm afraid they wanna charge me for an all day job.

3. Mechanic #3. I called for first time this morning. They're an import/euro shop. Their rate is 75.00 and hour. They didn't hesitate. They asked when I wanted to bring it in.