PDA

View Full Version : Frame & Body The Day of Urethane

Ashyukun
07-03-2011, 12:42 AM
Today I finally got everything finished up that needed to be done in the way of preparation on the fascias, louvers, and engine cover to be able to break open the tube of windshield urethane and apply all the fixes/reinforcements that I have for those parts in preparation for the fascias going off to be refinished and repainting the louvers & engine cover myself.

The front fascia was pretty standard in the way of fixes- steel bars to straighten out the eyebrows a bit (I'd done a good bit of straightening with the heat gun, a plank, and a lot of clamps earlier) and aluminum bars under the lights to reinforce/straighten that.

On the rear fascia, I'd snapped almost all (only one survived...) of the studs, so I had cut/ground out the rusted remains of the old studs. I had originally planned on just holding the new stainless ones in with the urethane alone... but I'm an engineer, and a structural analyst at that- and adhesive is generally not the best in pure tension like it would be in this application. So I dug through my assorted fasteners and found some small 3/8" screws that with two washers held the new studs on nicely without going through the fascia. I drilled a VERY shallow pilot hole for each one to start it. I installed all of the screws initially, and then backed them out most of the way and pressed the urethane tube tip up to the holes in the stud backs to get it under the studs and then tightened the screws back down before covering all of it up with a substantial amount of urethane.