PDA

View Full Version : Ever had to turn down a job offer?

Kenny_Z
07-05-2013, 01:22 PM
I'm not good with rejecting people so this was difficult. I was approached by a company several times over the passed couple of months. Twice by recruiters and once by a former coworker. My manager accepted another job and left the company. The sudden instability and direction had me accept an interview from the new company on Monday. I enjoyed the interview, the job, and the people. One of the CEOs was the main reason they were trying to recruit me. The only real problem for me was the drive, almost two hours one way depending on traffic. The office closer to me wasn't the one they would want me to work from. They made me an offer on Tuesday for more than I make now but the cost of gas negated any benefit. On Wednesday I received word from my current company that my new boss is someone I have enjoyed working with in the past and knows how valuable I am. So I went from a very unstable department with an uncertain future to something I can see myself settling into again. Yesterday was a holiday so I had to wait until today to contact the prospective office and decline their offer. I tried to do it in the most polite and political way possible. After all, I might find the need to work with them in the future.

I think if it wasn't for that drive I'd probably take the offer but that coupled with the new manager and stable work environment I can't see myself leaving.

ccurzio
07-05-2013, 01:32 PM
Good for you, man. It takes balls to turn good opportunities down to stay on the road where you want to be.