PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first DeLorean

forvalaka
07-20-2013, 08:13 AM
Hello. I'm new to this site and spent the past 24 hours or so reading up. I've wanted a DeLorean since I was a kid and I'm finally in a place where I can buy one. The one I'm looking at is here: http://www.carsforsale.com/used_cars_for_sale/1981_DeLorean_DMC+12_197647865_1

I plan to go up and test drive it soon. Heres the thing, I'm a therapist and science fiction writer, I don't know much about cars let alone classic cars. But I don't want that to stop me from owning the car of my dreams, I want to learn. So here are my questions:
Does anyone know about this particular car? What questions should I be asking the owner? Wheres a good place in Atlanta to get it serviced?

This will be my only vehicle until I get it paid off. I only drive about 120 miles a week or so, mostly working from home. Thanks guys!

Dangermouse
07-20-2013, 08:34 AM
As the car is listed at a Used Car dealership and they think its an 8 cylinder I am not sure you will get many details of the cars history from them.

Ask for some pictures of the underside. Ask when it was last driven (look at the carfax report also). It is a low mileage example so if it hasn't been driven for years it may not be the best choice to immediately press into daily driver service.

Most local owners do their own work but some places will work on parts of the car - basic mechanical, replacing parts etc

Good luck in your search.

RammJaeger
07-20-2013, 08:57 AM
Forvalaka,

I actually live in the same city that you do, Woodstock, GA. I own a Delorean along with several other classic cars and I've done a cap decent amount of work on my cars. I might be able to go up there with you to take a look at the car. I'll pm you my contact information. I'll let you take a look at my Delorean if you'd like as well.

John

Soundkillr
07-20-2013, 11:22 AM
Ill sell you mine for 40k :)