PDA

View Full Version : DeLorean and my future? *Not a pun*

Roman Legion
07-30-2011, 01:59 PM
I was thinking of selling my Mustang when I get back from deployment, despite the fact I will have enough money for a D without selling the 'stang, I really want a D, but do not need two cars or the cost associated with having two. What do you guys think (Advice, options, et cetera..).

louielouie2000
07-30-2011, 02:22 PM
For what it's worth, when I graduated from college in '04 I had both a Mustang GT and a DeLorean. Interestingly enough, whenever I got into the Mustang for a drive, it felt noisy & crude. So I rarely drove it. My DeLorean was my daily car for probably about 3 years, and it was mostly reliable. The only thing I warn against if you do that is burnout. I was in my early 20s at the time, and I just got so sick of every last dollar I made and every extra minute of my time going towards keeping the DeLorean satisfied. :tongue: That's why I needed a DeLorean break and sold the car. You can absolutely have a DeLorean as your only car, but just beware of unforeseen consquences like I encountered.

TheDutchTexan
07-30-2011, 03:17 PM
I say keep the mustang, and don't buy the DeLorean. Why? I posted in another thread where you have issues with buying a single tire, and now you have enough money to buy a DeLorean without selling your mustang?

It does not compute. It does not make any sense. Make damn sure your financial household is in order before you commit to anything that grand! Or did something change in the last week?

sean
07-30-2011, 03:29 PM
IMO, buy a practical and efficient beater car, say a late 90's early 00's Honda. This will make for a cheap daily in the event the D goes down for a bit. Maintenance/tax/insurance would be cheap on that car.

Kenny_Z
07-30-2011, 04:33 PM
Keep in mind that the Delorean as a daily driver can easily cost as much as two cars plus you can't just go down to the local autoparts store and pick up a repair kit.