FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Chugging, hard start, dies on acceleration... you tell me.

'Merican Spatula

My VIN:    1242

Question Chugging, hard start, dies on acceleration... you tell me.

Back again to boggart you guys again for information. Please be gentle, I'm still new at this.

First a tad bit of history on what is going on...

I had the hot start issue confirmed by myself and a friend that the fuel system was not holding pressure and due to my limited resources, I decided to replace the accumulator and check valve. At that point I had already received an accumulator and had the check valve on order (2-ish weeks until delivery - go figure) so I prompted to put the new accumulator in. Other than the R&R being a total pain in the butt, it went in without anything breaking. Since I have driven the vehicle many many times without issue since I picked it up, and after I replace the accumulator, I figured there would be no problem taking it down to the local good guys car show - a solid 75 mile drive in one direction. She started up and drove great all the way to my parents' place then great all the way to the car show. Bear in mind this was all in about 85° - 90° heat.

We parked the car and went the the show, great show really, lots of cool stuff. Almost too much to see with some 2500 cars there, but I digress...