FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 54

Thread: Has anyone installed the Power Pump fuel pump?

  1. #21
    Senior Member Justin51982's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jul 2012

    Location:  Nashville, TN

    Posts:    179

    My VIN:    06568

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    I'm probably going to end up with the DMC on myself. I just find it a little challenging that it's almost double the cost of almost all other set ups. It's the only one that I know of that will do everything I want, so I don't see another option, I would just like it better at $350.

  2. #22
    Senior Member ccurzio's Avatar
    Join Date:  Nov 2011

    Location:  Atlanta-ish

    Posts:    2,218

    My VIN:    5311

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    The price is definitely significantly higher than it should be, especially for the unreasonably small warranty that comes with it, but initial check valve problems aside the unit seems to be fairly solid. I've had one of them in my car since mid-2012. It's internal check valve failed, but Houston made it right. No problems since.
    - Chris


    what

  3. #23
    Senior Member Justin51982's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jul 2012

    Location:  Nashville, TN

    Posts:    179

    My VIN:    06568

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Accipiter View Post
    The price is definitely significantly higher than it should be, especially for the unreasonably small warranty that comes with it, but initial check valve problems aside the unit seems to be fairly solid. I've had one of them in my car since mid-2012. It's internal check valve failed, but Houston made it right. No problems since.
    I guess when you have exclusivity and have what's supposed to be the best product, you can charge whatever you want. I'm also all about free enterprise and great margins, but like you said, its significantly higher than it should be......But, I need it, they have it, so they win.

  4. #24
    absotively posilutely bytes311's Avatar
    Join Date:  Sep 2014

    Location:  Modesto, CA

    Posts:    248

    Club(s):   (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    I have Hervey's fuel pump/sending unit installed in my car. The only issue I have is the lack of a functioning fuel gauge.

    fp.jpg

  5. #25
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,276

    My VIN:    16409

    Quote Originally Posted by bytes311 View Post
    I have Hervey's fuel pump/sending unit installed in my car. The only issue I have is the lack of a functioning fuel gauge.
    What is your opinion on the pump itself. You can buy it separately for like $129 which is a good deal.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  6. #26
    Senior Member Trstno1's Avatar
    Join Date:  Aug 2014

    Location:  Anchorage, Alaska

    Posts:    701

    My VIN:    5625

    Quote Originally Posted by bytes311 View Post
    I have Hervey's fuel pump/sending unit installed in my car. The only issue I have is the lack of a functioning fuel gauge.

    fp.jpg
    What's going on with you fuel gauge? Does it have a low fuel indicator?
    You can't buy happiness, but you can buy a DeLorean and that's sort of the same thing....

  7. #27
    Senior Member spedlot's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  San Luis Obispo

    Posts:    106

    My VIN:    6235

    So I've had a bouncy fuel gauge for a while in my car. Would replacing this fuel pump/sending unit help this?

  8. #28
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,529

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by spedlot View Post
    So I've had a bouncy fuel gauge for a while in my car. Would replacing this fuel pump/sending unit help this?
    It takes a very slow filter to stop a bouncy fuel gauge. The Tankzilla did a pretty good job but the best way to filter it is with software using a micro-processor which I think the new DMC pump/gauge uses.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  9. #29
    DMC Midwest - 815.459.6439 DMCMW Dave's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Crystal Lake IL

    Posts:    5,173

    My VIN:    05429

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    It takes a very slow filter to stop a bouncy fuel gauge. The Tankzilla did a pretty good job but the best way to filter it is with software using a micro-processor which I think the new DMC pump/gauge uses.
    Yes, and it's probably 5-10 minute averaging (I really don't know for sure). It's interesting to fill the tank with the new one with the engine running. When you shut it off the circuit resets, but if you fill the tank with the engine running it takes a long time to show full.
    Dave S
    DMC Midwest - retired but helping
    dswingle@DeLorean.com

  10. #30
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,529

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCMW Dave View Post
    Yes, and it's probably 5-10 minute averaging (I really don't know for sure). It's interesting to fill the tank with the new one with the engine running. When you shut it off the circuit resets, but if you fill the tank with the engine running it takes a long time to show full.
    Not that we would know that since we don't break the law
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •