Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How To: Jump the RPM Relay

  1. #1
    Vin3299's Doc DeLorean03's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Dayton, OH

    Posts:    1,586

    My VIN:    3299

    How To: Jump the RPM Relay

    The RPM relay is located in the electrical compartment behind the passenger's seat. It looks like this:

    rpm-relay-new-old-style-gre.jpg

    Once you've located it, unplug it from the electrical connector it's hooked up to. It'll only go back on one way specifically, so don't worry about how to reconnect when the time comes. From there, you need to devise a "jumper" - a wire with 2 male spade connectors - one on each end of the wire. Spade connectors typically are rectangular in shape. Once you've made the jumper, "jump the RPM relay" as seen in this picture:

    rpm-relay-jumper.jpg

    This, in essence, forces the fuel pump to run even if you are not trying to start the car. Once you've jumped the RPM relay as seen in the picture above, try to start your car. If it starts in this case, your RPM relay may be working intermittently. Unhook your jumper, re-hook the RPM back up to the electrical plug, and try to start your car normally. If it starts, good deal. If not, might need to look into a new RPM relay.
    DMCTalk.org Moderator

    Actual snippet of a conversation from Sept 2013:

    Me: Eddie, I can't wait to get the car back when you're done with it.

    Eddie: Yeah, you'll be able to give the car gas, and it won't be - like - embarrassing....

  2. #2
    Not dead yet, also Admin. sean's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Dahlonega GA

    Posts:    2,466

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    FYI, the wires in question that you are connecting with this jump:
    Brown
    and
    White/Purple.
    eBay selling at it's best I can tell you stock Delorians and quite a bit of slugs so the Turbo is a super nice up-grade.
    K-Jet: Causing electrical issues since November 5th 1955

  3. #3
    Voice For Hire Farrar's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Long Island, New York

    Posts:    4,177

    My VIN:    02613

    Club(s):   (LINY-DMC) (DCUK)

    I would like to add that if the relay fails while you're on the road and you need a way to get your car safely elsewhere under its own power so that you can order a new relay, you can stick the other end of the jumper wire in the green wire's slot, instead of the brown wire's slot. The result is that the fuel pump will run when the key is on.

    The usual disclaimer about this being only a temporary solution applies. Also, I think it is a good idea to keep a fused jumper in the car for this, in case you have an electrical problem which caused the relay to blow.

    Farrar
    DeLorean status: 3.0L installed and running

  4. #4
    Not dead yet, also Admin. sean's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Dahlonega GA

    Posts:    2,466

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Farrar View Post
    I would like to add that if the relay fails while you're on the road and you need a way to get your car safely elsewhere under its own power so that you can order a new relay, you can stick the other end of the jumper wire in the green wire's slot, instead of the brown wire's slot. The result is that the fuel pump will run when the key is on.

    The usual disclaimer about this being only a temporary solution applies. Also, I think it is a good idea to keep a fused jumper in the car for this, in case you have an electrical problem which caused the relay to blow.

    Farrar
    Great addition Farrar!
    eBay selling at it's best I can tell you stock Delorians and quite a bit of slugs so the Turbo is a super nice up-grade.
    K-Jet: Causing electrical issues since November 5th 1955

  5. #5
    Voice For Hire Farrar's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Long Island, New York

    Posts:    4,177

    My VIN:    02613

    Club(s):   (LINY-DMC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by sean View Post
    Great addition Farrar!
    Thanks; I had my second cup of coffee just before I wrote that.

    Farrar
    DeLorean status: 3.0L installed and running

  6. #6
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    6,395

    My VIN:    03572

    The photo in the first post shows a green case green connector. That is the only RPM relay I can not accept as a core for my solid state relay. The pin footprint does not match my circuit board.

    An emergency jumper should have three pins. So you also power the Lambda circuit with the fuel pump.

    So you don't need to remember what colors or pin number.
    The pump wires are the two large gauge wires.
    Brown wire is always the power (battery +).
    The double wires in one pin is the Lambda.

    Running the pump on the green wire, I do not recommend to do. Our stock pumps run about 7 amps and some run 10 amps.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  7. #7
    Senior Member LordFly's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jan 2013

    Location:  London, ON

    Posts:    691

    My VIN:    17082

    Club(s):   (DOI)

    Anyone happen to have a labeled picture showing exactly which relay the RPM on is?
    - Devon

    83 Canadian Spec - Manual, Grey, Fixed Pulls, Flat Hood

  8. #8
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,054

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Looking for 5 spd...

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordFly View Post
    Anyone happen to have a labeled picture showing exactly which relay the RPM on is?
    Not a pic but this should do the trick:
    ElectricalCompartment-REVISEDtoWSManual.jpg

  9. #9
    Not really banned Michael's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Posts:    2,834

    I got Dave's solid state relay and never looked back..just the same I kept my old relay just as a spare but I doubt I will ever need it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member DMC-81's Avatar
    Join Date:  Apr 2014

    Location:  Florida

    Posts:    1,173

    My VIN:    <2000

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    Quote Originally Posted by LordFly View Post
    Anyone happen to have a labeled picture showing exactly which relay the RPM on is?
    Here's a pic if it helps any. The RPM relay is tucked in on the bottom layer so it's sometimes hard to distinguish.

    image.jpg

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    I got Dave's solid state relay and never looked back..just the same I kept my old relay just as a spare but I doubt I will ever need it.
    +1. I'm running Dave's solid state unit (highly recommend), and I have the relay that I got in DMC's relay and fuse update kit as a spare.
    Dana

    Delorean status: CECF 2017 Platinum Award winner. Still tinkering...

    Pictures and comments of my restoration journey are in the albums section on my profile.

    .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •