FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: What's a reasonable price for a replacement engine?

My VIN:    02613

Club(s):   (DCF)

What's a reasonable price for a replacement engine?

My car's engine is toast. Since I am only working part-time now while I'm a full-time college student, my "fun" budget is extremely limited. Nonetheless, while I finish school (I graduate in the spring), I want to put the car on the road rather than let it deteriorate in the garage.

Here's the problem. I've never bought a used engine before. Searching online, I've seen some engines that look like crap for $250 all the way up to "guaranteed for 30 days" without pictures for $700. I have no idea what I'd get for the money at any amount. I am not an experienced shopper. I have never even been to a junkyard. I am coming to the community for the voice of experience, since I know some of you have bought used engines before.

Bottom line: how much can I expect to pay for a B28F or otherwise "drop-in" replacement engine?

Thanks in advance.
    3.0L, automatic, carbureted

My VIN:    2347

Although I don't know how much a used engine would go for, what I can tell you is that no matter what you buy its going to be a gamble. Especially if you can't hear it run.
    Everyone is tough through a keyboard

My VIN:    10757 1st place Concourse 1998

Quote Originally Posted by davidc89 View Post
    Although I don't know how much a used engine would go for, what I can tell you is that no matter what you buy its going to be a gamble. Especially if you can't hear it run.