FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com

Thread: Connolly32

VIN 1527

My VIN:    1527

Connolly32

Have to bite the bullet- need to change engine--looking for shop near Daytona Beach Fl. or San Luis Obispo Ca.
    To old to do it myself. What engine would you use
    HELP

My VIN:    5835

Club(s):   (LINY-DMC) (DCUK)

GM 3800 SC series 2
    Lou and "Boo"- The man you love to hate.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "Boo" VIN 5835
    Born October 1981 - Brought back to life December 2011
    "Fastest naturally aspirated PRV" Delorean
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "Blue" - 1985 Fiero GT
    3800sc series 2

My VIN:    05457

I'm no expert on engine swaps, but it may help those who are make a better recommendation if you provide more details on what you want out of the engine. For instance, you may want to rank criteria such as:

• Horsepower
    • Ease of maintenance by average local mechanic
    • Physical size (how cramped will the engine compartment be)
    • Must work with stock tranny
    • Compatibility with existing systems (electrical sensors, fuel delivery, etc)
    • Weight (do you care if your car is more or less back heavy than it is today?)

I'm sure there are countless other things to consider, but I wouldn't know. In short, what are you looking for in a replacement engine?
    David Proehl

My VIN:    01643

Club(s):   (DCF) (DCO) (DCUK)

If you're not planning to do a swap by yourself, I'd be a little wary about leaving it in the hands of a shop to do a swap on. There aren't a lot of shops that will actually take on a full engine swap. Ed G. at SEO Motorsports was about the only place I know of but he's currently closed his doors. He is about the only place I would have trusted since he was already very familiar with DeLoreans.