FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - AT THEATERS THIS WEEKEND & ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37

Thread: Power Antenna Replacement

  1. #11
    Senior Member DMCVegas's Avatar
    Join Date:  Oct 2011

    Location:  Las Vegas

    Posts:    2,444

    My VIN:    6585

    Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK)

    6585 Has the same exact setup too. Although in my case the inline fuse for the relay was missing. So until I took ownership of the car, the antenna never worked.

    Eventually the mast did break, but I just purchased a replacement one from Darryl Tinnerstet and fed it back in without ever having to remove the assembly. So there might be a couple of solutions to consider looking into.
    Robert

    Wake me when hockey season returns...

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2016

    Location:  McCleary WA

    Posts:    83

    Club(s):   (PNDC)

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCVegas View Post
    6585 Has the same exact setup too. Although in my case the inline fuse for the relay was missing. So until I took ownership of the car, the antenna never worked.

    Eventually the mast did break, but I just purchased a replacement one from Darryl Tinnerstet and fed it back in without ever having to remove the assembly. So there might be a couple of solutions to consider looking into.
    That had to be over 12 years ago - and you remember that???

  3. #13
    Senior Member DMCVegas's Avatar
    Join Date:  Oct 2011

    Location:  Las Vegas

    Posts:    2,444

    My VIN:    6585

    Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by BLWNAWY View Post
    That had to be over 12 years ago - and you remember that???
    It was more like 14 years ago

    Absolutely I remember that, AND the Toby Tabs I bought from you. Hell, I even remember that other Vegas owner, Ron, who had to put a replacement radiator on layaway with you. I also remember the BS you were going through when someone decided to have that similar name to yours, and caused you all sorts of problems. Which sucked because you had the name first.

    logo-220.gif

    Still disappointed I wasn't able to get an input coupler from you. Gonna have to shell out for a single-piece input shaft when the time comes for my engine swap.
    Robert

    Wake me when hockey season returns...

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2016

    Location:  McCleary WA

    Posts:    83

    Club(s):   (PNDC)

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCVegas View Post

    Still disappointed I wasn't able to get an input coupler from you. Gonna have to shell out for a single-piece input shaft when the time comes for my engine swap.
    I think Toby still sells those couplers I designed.

  5. #15
    Senior Member DMCVegas's Avatar
    Join Date:  Oct 2011

    Location:  Las Vegas

    Posts:    2,444

    My VIN:    6585

    Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by BLWNAWY View Post
    I think Toby still sells those couplers I designed.
    Back in 2005 Matt Olans inquired about them, and Toby said he was out of stock then with no plans to ever remake them. At least according to what Matt said he was told.
    Robert

    Wake me when hockey season returns...

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2016

    Posts:    223

    For some reason, I opted to get the bracket that DMCH sells. I went to put the antenna on it and the big hole for mounting the mast is too large. I cannot get the mast mounting pieces to sandwich the metal of the bracket. Do you guys have any suggestions on how I can make this work?

    New with and without sandwich piece
    New1.jpg New2.jpg

    New vs. Old (old on bottom)
    Old_vs_New.jpg

    Old with and without sandwich piece
    Old1.jpg Old2.jpg

    The original piece has a 0.75" hole while the new piece has a 1.25" hole.

    I sent an email to DMCH last week asking the same questions with these attachments and no one responded so I thought I'd try the forum...
    Last edited by spikeygg; 10-05-2016 at 11:13 PM. Reason: Adding more detail

  7. #17
    Delorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Northern NJ

    Posts:    7,186

    My VIN:    10757

    Club(s):   (DMA)

    Some large washers or I can sell you a bracket.
    David Teitelbaum

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2016

    Posts:    223

    Quote Originally Posted by David T View Post
    Some large washers or I can sell you a bracket.
    Very helpful David.

  9. #19
    '82 T3 FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Lansing, MI

    Posts:    841

    My VIN:    10270

    I would just take tin snips to the old bracket and cut a bit square out around the original mounting hole. Do the same to another section of the old bracket and holesaw it.

    Then use those pieces to make an adapter for the new bracket. The $free.99 equivalent of David's washer solution.
    Luke S :: 10270 :: 82 Grey 5-Speed :: Single Watercooled T3 .60/.48 :: Borla Exhaust :: MSD Ignition :: MS3X Fully SFI Odd-fire EFI :: DevilsOwn Methanol Injection

    Console5.com - Game console parts, kits, games and more. [shop] [wiki] [RSS] [f] [t]

  10. #20
    Delorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Northern NJ

    Posts:    7,186

    My VIN:    10757

    Club(s):   (DMA)

    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy View Post
    I would just take tin snips to the old bracket and cut a bit square out around the original mounting hole. Do the same to another section of the old bracket and holesaw it.

    Then use those pieces to make an adapter for the new bracket. The $free.99 equivalent of David's washer solution.
    This works IF you have the snips and the hole saw. Any large hardware store will have the washers you need without having to make them. They can't be expensive.
    David Teitelbaum

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •