FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Automatic Shifter - I want to customize - hate the big black plastic chunk

Automatic Shifter - I want to customize - hate the big black plastic chunk

Do we have any options here if we want to keep the button?
    I'm not sure if I have even squeezed the button before shifting.
    I'm not sure if something has worn out of if maybe I'm just a bad driver...

Thoughts? And no, putting a DMC sticker on it, is not what I want to do

Happy Holidays!
    :Ross

Senior Member - Owner since 2003 Patrick C's Avatar

My VIN:    1880

Club(s):   (DCO) (DCUK)

Your car has the early style shifter that is known for having problems. I would try to contact Rob Grady and see if he has the parts needed to convert it to the later style (Renault) that looks and functions better. Later style looks like this:

Patrick C.
    VIN 1880

Motors about after dark Michael's Avatar

My VIN:    Banged your VIN'S mom

You can get the stainless surround from most of the vendors. I didn't like that it stuck on and I wanted to keep my interior somewhat subdued so I took mine apart and painted it a matt charcoal gray. Turned out very nice. I also got the shifter emblem that replaces the stock plastic one.

IMG_20161124_182034.jpg

My VIN:    3937

Quote Originally Posted by rossmilstein View Post
    Do we have any options here if we want to keep the button?
    I'm not sure if I have even squeezed the button before shifting.
    I'm not sure if something has worn out of if maybe I'm just a bad driver...

Thoughts? And no, putting a DMC sticker on it, is not what I want to do

Happy Holidays!
    :Ross
    http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?10...l=1#post165448

Have a look at the second picture in that post.