Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Flux capacitor

  1. #11
    Senior Member aotmfilms's Avatar
    Join Date:  Apr 2015

    Location:  Macomb MI #DOCBRWN

    Posts:    301

    My VIN:    5778

    Club(s):   (DCO) (DCUK)

    GhettoFlux.jpgGhettofusion.jpgghettofusion2.jpglit.jpg

    #GhettoFlux
    #GhettoFusion



    When you have to timetravel on a budget it is the #ghettofusion and #ghettoflux by Ronco....patent pending

    (Not to mention #ghettofluxbands)

    --Doug
    Last edited by aotmfilms; 03-06-2017 at 04:34 PM.
    FB Page: #ProjectDelorean https://www.facebook.com/ProjectDelorean88mph
    Twitter: @projdelorean

    "Back Before the Future"--the story before the story of a crazy dude trying to timetravel...kindof like expedia...only bumpier...

  2. #12
    Senior Member aotmfilms's Avatar
    Join Date:  Apr 2015

    Location:  Macomb MI #DOCBRWN

    Posts:    301

    My VIN:    5778

    Club(s):   (DCO) (DCUK)

    MiniFlux.jpg

    MiniFlux with improved rear #ghettofluxbands

    --Doug
    Last edited by aotmfilms; 03-06-2017 at 04:44 PM.
    FB Page: #ProjectDelorean https://www.facebook.com/ProjectDelorean88mph
    Twitter: @projdelorean

    "Back Before the Future"--the story before the story of a crazy dude trying to timetravel...kindof like expedia...only bumpier...

  3. #13
    Not really banned Michael's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Posts:    3,016

    I found a nice replica on ebay for 125.00 and snagged it. If you have an iPad just download the FC app!

  4. #14
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,103

    My VIN:    16409

    This is funny:

    http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...itemDetailTab_

    Doesn't look like it's available at the moment.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2016

    Location:  Austin MN

    Posts:    64

    My VIN:    03500

    It was ment to be funny on back to the future day 10/21/15. They never sold them. The pic is a Diamond Select flux I think. I have one from fluxy88.

    Dave B

  6. #16
    Senior Member ccurzio's Avatar
    Join Date:  Nov 2011

    Location:  Atlanta-ish

    Posts:    2,215

    My VIN:    5311

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by WHO1DMC View Post
    It was ment to be funny on back to the future day 10/21/15.
    That gag has been on O'Reilly's site a whole hell of a lot longer than that.
    - Chris


    what

  7. #17
    Senior Member Timebender's Avatar
    Join Date:  Nov 2011

    Location:  Jamul, CA

    Posts:    1,412

    My VIN:    07000

    Quote Originally Posted by Drive Stainless View Post
    The Diamond Select Flux Capacitor is a pretty good value, I think.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Back-to-the-...Wi6w8BHttcvB7Q

    For my own flux capacitor, I took one of these toys, removed the important stuff, and transplanted it to the authentic "Stahlin" enclosure with real vacuum relays instead of the replicas.
    I have one as well without the window. My biggest issue with the BTTFII Diamond Select version, with more "movie accurate" effects, is wrong due to the flux lights only being 3 each (thus a more strobe effect), and going from the middle to the outside, vs. outside in.

    I thought movie accurate, and the way everyone who makes the expensive FC's, was from the outside into the middle..

  8. #18
    Matt Drive Stainless's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2016

    Location:  Washington D.C.

    Posts:    431

    Quote Originally Posted by Timebender View Post
    I have one as well without the window. My biggest issue with the BTTFII Diamond Select version, with more "movie accurate" effects, is wrong due to the flux lights only being 3 each (thus a more strobe effect), and going from the middle to the outside, vs. outside in.

    I thought movie accurate, and the way everyone who makes the expensive FC's, was from the outside into the middle..

    Mine goes from the outside to the middle. If you had one that went the wrong way, it's a simple matter to pull the circuit board and flip it around. You might need to extend a wire or two.
    New & Improved V3 S/S Alternator Tensioning Bracket - $39.99
    New & Used DeLorean Parts on eBay HERE.
    S/S Upper Alternator Bracket for Saturn/Autozone Alternator - $39.99
    QA1 Coil-Over Suspension Kit - Complete Kit - $1,149.99 w/ FREE SHIPPING
    QA1 "DIY" Coil-Over Suspension Kit - $99.99
    Mirror switch rebuilding service w/ new springs & ball bearings - $49.50
    HEI Performance Ignition Module (Exchange) - $149.99
    Welding services also (all metals)!
    http://www.drivestainless.com

  9. #19
    LS1 DMC Nicholas R's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Orlando, Florida

    Posts:    2,503

    My VIN:    01643

    Club(s):   (DCF) (DCO) (DCUK)

    There are two diamond select toys versions of the FC. The original (short run) version indeed went the wrong direction (from the inside out) and also had a single strobe light in the middle. There are 2 knobs on it, one that controls the speed of the LED cascading and the other that controls the speed of the strobe. Pretty quickly people started complaining about the direction of the cascading, the innaccuracy of having the center strobe light, and the fact that the strobe lights burned out after a relatively short time. They then released what they called the BTTF Part II version which eliminated the center strobe completely, and corrected the cascade direction (from outside in).

    This is the first version with strobe and incorrect cascading. (notice the U-shaped strobe light in the center). This version was very short lived. I remember trying to get one shortly after they came out and they had already switched over. This one was only out for a couple of months.
    DST FC 1.jpg

    This is the second and current version which most owners have, with no strobe and correct cascading.
    DST FC 2.jpg
    Last edited by Nicholas R; 03-09-2017 at 04:12 PM.

  10. #20
    Senior Member Timebender's Avatar
    Join Date:  Nov 2011

    Location:  Jamul, CA

    Posts:    1,412

    My VIN:    07000

    Interesting. Mine doesn't have the strobe and goes outside in. But I did get it for super cheap on eBay, as the seller thought it was broken.

    I'll have to switch the boards around, and yes, I did look and the wires would have to be slightly extended.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •