Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Why are my bolts loose?

  1. #1
    Stuck in the 80s John U's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Kitchener, Ontario

    Posts:    505

    My VIN:    3462

    Club(s):   (DOI)

    Why are my bolts loose?

    I went to remove my right side driveshaft in order to remove my crossover pipe.
    The bolts on the driveshaft at the gearbox were all loose. Some I could turn by hand!
    Anyone seen this before?
    Should I be using loctite upon reinstalling?
    Thanks
    John U

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date:  Feb 2017

    Posts:    17

    Don't use loctite, but do use a torque wrench.
    --
    Mike

  3. #3
    Delorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Northern NJ

    Posts:    6,111

    My VIN:    10757

    Club(s):   (DMA)

    Someone must have removed those bolts at some point in the past. As per ST-09-7/81 the torque spec is M10 x 17 Shaft to inner and outer drive shafts, 30 Ft/Lbs or 40 N/M. I don't think you need to use thread-locker. Check all of the bolts on both sides and the boots for cuts, rips, and tears. Do not allow the shaft to drop or hang from one side, you will bend the cup that secures the boot.
    David Teitelbaum

  4. #4
    Stuck in the 80s John U's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Kitchener, Ontario

    Posts:    505

    My VIN:    3462

    Club(s):   (DOI)

    Thanks for the replies. I was thinking it may have been a previous owner that didn't tighten them. Boots are all fine.
    Will a socket even fit on there in order to use a torque wrench?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    6,605

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by John U View Post
    Thanks for the replies. I was thinking it may have been a previous owner that didn't tighten them. Boots are all fine.
    Will a socket even fit on there in order to use a torque wrench?
    A socket won't fit. You can use a crows foot or replace the bolts with "Allen" head.

    I had to use a crows foot with an impact wrench to get mine out.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  6. #6
    Senior Member Josh's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2013

    Location:  SK, Canada

    Posts:    1,604

    My VIN:    11408

    Club(s):   (TXDMC)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    A socket won't fit. You can use a crows foot or replace the bolts with "Allen" head.
    Weird... I used a socket and extension to remove my axles the other day.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    6,605

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by Josh View Post
    Weird... I used a socket and extension to remove my axles the other day.
    Could not get a socket on mine. Maybe my sockets are to thick walled.
    Last edited by Bitsyncmaster; 03-06-2017 at 04:09 PM.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Burnsville MN-Moving to Kalispell MT. in June 20111

    Posts:    698

    My VIN:    2691

    axle

    You have to rotate the shaft to a point where the
    socket will slip on....

  9. #9
    Senior Member DMC-81's Avatar
    Join Date:  Apr 2014

    Location:  Florida

    Posts:    1,280

    My VIN:    <2000

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    I'm refurbing my drive axles right now, and I saw evidence of red locktite on the original bolts. Also, this similar CV (VW) rebuild thread:http://volksweb.relitech.com/cvjoints.htm says to use thread locker.

    After my very first car (a VW) had the bolts back out, I plan to use at least blue locktite. When I think about it, the axles and CV joints are under constant motion and stresses.
    Dana

    Delorean status: CECF 2017 Platinum Award winner. Still tinkering...

    Pictures and comments of my restoration journey are in the albums section on my profile.

    .

  10. #10
    DMC Midwest - 815.459.6439 DMCMW Dave's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Crystal Lake IL

    Posts:    5,016

    My VIN:    05429

    You can get a high quality thinwall socket on the axle flange bolts. Not an impact, and not some crummy Harbor Freight specials.
    Dave S
    DMC Midwest - retired but helping
    dswingle@DeLorean.com

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •