Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Running - 3.0L engine swap

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2017

    Posts:    38

    Running - 3.0L engine swap

    Finally got my 3.0 running on the ground. Now I have to see what I need to get it hooked up in the car. I'll have to look at pulling fuel pump and replacing it with a high flow pump and a return line. Either way I'm one step closer to finding all the problems that are in the DeLorean. Lol

  2. #2
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    6,655

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by Jupiterbandit View Post
    Finally got my 3.0 running on the ground. Now I have to see what I need to get it hooked up in the car. I'll have to look at pulling fuel pump and replacing it with a high flow pump and a return line. Either way I'm one step closer to finding all the problems that are in the DeLorean. Lol
    The stock fuel pump has pretty high flow and uses a return line.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2017

    Posts:    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    The stock fuel pump has pretty high flow and uses a return line.

    I'll have to see if it still works and put a gauge on it.

  4. #4
    EFI'd dn010's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jul 2011

    Location:  Florida: Pinellas County

    Posts:    1,175

    My VIN:    5003

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    High flow? The stock motor demanded much more from the fuel pump than the 3.0 does...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    -----Dan B.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Josh's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2013

    Location:  SK, Canada

    Posts:    1,626

    My VIN:    11408

    Club(s):   (TXDMC)

    Quote Originally Posted by dn010 View Post
    High flow? The stock motor demanded much more from the fuel pump than the 3.0 does...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yeah, im running my v8 with the stock pump setup and it has more room.

  6. #6
    EFI'd dn010's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jul 2011

    Location:  Florida: Pinellas County

    Posts:    1,175

    My VIN:    5003

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    Just curious what you did for cooling and starting?
    -----Dan B.

  7. #7
    Not a DeLorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Rochester, NY

    Posts:    1,889

    My VIN:    01049

    Quote Originally Posted by Jupiterbandit View Post
    Finally got my 3.0 running on the ground. Now I have to see what I need to get it hooked up in the car. I'll have to look at pulling fuel pump and replacing it with a high flow pump and a return line. Either way I'm one step closer to finding all the problems that are in the DeLorean. Lol
    Wut

    There's already a very high flow pump in the car stock, and there is already a return line.
    -Mike
    1981 DeLorean, heads/cams/exhaust, EFI
    1999 Corvette, heads/cam/exhaust, 440 BHP
    2005 Elise, stock
    2016 Chevy Cruze

  8. #8
    EFI'd dn010's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jul 2011

    Location:  Florida: Pinellas County

    Posts:    1,175

    My VIN:    5003

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    I'm guessing he doesn't know that EFI requires less than half the pressure K-Jet needs.... With that, I now wonder how he fueled his engine while running it on "the ground".
    -----Dan B.

  9. #9
    President, DeLorean Industries
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  CLE/PHX

    Posts:    2,261

    My VIN:    5646,5080, 5880, 10234, 3639, 2518, 10586, 1538


  10. #10
    EFI'd dn010's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jul 2011

    Location:  Florida: Pinellas County

    Posts:    1,175

    My VIN:    5003

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    -----Dan B.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •