FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: New to the Forum and Researching to Buy

New to the Forum and Researching to Buy

Hello, everyone. I have been trolling here off and on for a few years, but this is my first post. I am seriously considering a purchase within the next year or so and figured I'd begin my research now. I have read a few books on the Delorean already and have mostly decided on a latter production car with grey interior, non gas flap hood, silver wheels, antenna in rear, and 5 speed, though an auto might be an easier to sell to the wife. I currently have a restored Candy Apple Red 1970 Ford Mustang Mach 1 with 351c 2v, power brakes, power steering, A/C, and 8 track. It is a really nice car that I purchased in 2015. The Delorean was also on the list at the time, but we never looked at anymoutside classifieds. Two laters, I've noticed asking prices on DeLoreans are getting insane, while the Mustang is pretty flat price wise. I don't want to miss the boat and feel like the Delorean will appreciate in price more than the Mach 1, which I would sell for a Delorean. I would probably spend around 30-35k, which is the price range I'd get for my Mustang. Is that a good range for these still? I figure you'd all know better than I. I'd use the car strictly for weekend cruising and take it to shows once in a while.

My VIN:    05457

You should be able to find a very nice car in the 30-35k range. I've seen several perfect examples (everything recently updated, flawless interior and exterior) listed at 40k recently, but I'm not sure they are actually selling for that much. I would assume you could talk them down. Sounds like you have your expectations set appropriately, and with your reading you likely know what you are getting into. Keep us posted on what you end up buying!
    David Proehl

My VIN:    10757 1st place Concourse 1998