Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Adding aftermarket radio, Looking for switched and constant 12V power.

  1. #1
    Senior Member Nuclearbacon's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Santa Cruz, Ca

    Posts:    195

    My VIN:    10588

    Club(s):   (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    Question Adding aftermarket radio, Looking for switched and constant 12V power.

    I want to place an add-a-fuse onto two circuits in the fuse block to add my low draw aftermarket radio.

    Looking at our lovely diagram...



    I see Fuse 11 labeled as "Radio Clock, Power windows, Gear selector lamp"

    I see Fuse 17 as Cigar Lighter and Clocks.

    I'm thinking that my windows only work when the key is on, and the cigar lighter works always, So fuse 11 would be my switched, and Fuse 17 would be my constant?

    The two clock labels are throwing me off.

    This is the radio I'm installing. The RetroSound Model 3. Customize-able buttons etc, I chose black on black with black. It should look really incog in the dash.

    It has Bluetooth, no CD player, Two USB inputs (iPod, iPhone, or USB Flash Drive), 2 Aux inputs, 32 million colors for the display, super simple. A 32gb flash drive under the dash and I'm set.





    Thoughts, comments, concerns? Thank you!
    -Luigi-
    Thank you ALL for your patience and your tremendous help!

    1982 VIN#10588 Build Date Dec '81

  2. #2
    Senior Member Gregadeth's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Los Angeles, CA

    Posts:    292

    My VIN:    6472

    The stock wiring already has one constant 12v and one switched behind the radio (green and purple wires, can't remember which is which) and they are both fused. All you need is an adapter to go from the original connector to the new wiring of the aftermarket radio.

  3. #3
    Senior Member DMCFL Brandon's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Clermont, FL

    Posts:    1,162

    My VIN:    1098

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    The purple wire is constant 12v and the green/white wire is switched 12v if your factory wiring hasn't been altered.

    You will definitely want to check the inline fuses on both wires when installing a newer, more modern head unit. The stock inline fuses are 5A, but most newer head units pull 10A on the constant lead. So, double check your new HU documentation and verify the voltage and change out the fuse on the purple wire to match it if necessary.

    Alternately, you could run a new (fused of course) power lead directly to the battery and just use the stock switched lead for power sensing (on/off).
    Brandon S.

    2014 Honda Civic EX
    2016 Toyota Tacoma SR5 V6


  4. #4
    Senior Member OverlandMan's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Rowlett, TX

    Posts:    1,461

    My VIN:    5482

    I'd like to know how you end up liking that radio once you get it the install completed. I've eye-balled those in the past.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Nuclearbacon's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Santa Cruz, Ca

    Posts:    195

    My VIN:    10588

    Club(s):   (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    The stock radio connector was long gone. All I have are erroneous old speaker connections which I've gutted. I can pull constant power from the purple wires, I'll probably run a new switched as I mentioned from my above plan.

    Total custom job over here
    -Luigi-
    Thank you ALL for your patience and your tremendous help!

    1982 VIN#10588 Build Date Dec '81

  6. #6
    Not a DeLorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Rochester, NY

    Posts:    1,990

    My VIN:    01049

    I love the retro look of that radio. Will fit in real nicely with the rest of the interior.
    -Mike
    1981 DeLorean, heads/cams/exhaust, EFI
    1999 Corvette, heads/cam/exhaust, 440 BHP
    2005 Elise, stock
    2016 Chevy Cruze

  7. #7
    DMC Midwest - 815.459.6439 DMCMW Dave's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Crystal Lake IL

    Posts:    5,030

    My VIN:    05429

    Don't use an "add-a-Fuse". The fuse block is already pretty marginal. Find a source and solder-tap or lug it.
    Dave S
    DMC Midwest - retired but helping
    dswingle@DeLorean.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member Nuclearbacon's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Santa Cruz, Ca

    Posts:    195

    My VIN:    10588

    Club(s):   (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCMW Dave View Post
    Don't use an "add-a-Fuse". The fuse block is already pretty marginal. Find a source and solder-tap or lug it.
    Roger wilco.

    Ill look for the green/white for switched. The radio has an inline 15A fuse built into the wiring which is nice. I'll make sure all power is fused.
    Last edited by Nuclearbacon; 09-19-2017 at 01:01 AM.
    -Luigi-
    Thank you ALL for your patience and your tremendous help!

    1982 VIN#10588 Build Date Dec '81

  9. #9
    Mr. Pickles-mobile Shep's Avatar
    Join Date:  Sep 2011

    Location:  Akron, Ohio

    Posts:    1,769

    My VIN:    559

    If you want the original harness, one of the clubs has them on their site. It's an extension, so you get both ends in one convenient foot-long package. I'll look.

    EDIT: Fort Worth. $12.95 -- do yourself a favor and wire the speakers separate from the harness. Otherwise you'll need a common ground adapter from Crutchfield.
    Last edited by Shep; 09-20-2017 at 11:26 AM.
    Proud owner and operator of



    https://Raccin.Industries/

  10. #10
    LS1 DMC Nicholas R's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Orlando, Florida

    Posts:    2,512

    My VIN:    01643

    Club(s):   (DCF) (DCO) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shep View Post
    If you want the original harness, one of the clubs has them on their site. It's an extension, so you get both ends in one convenient foot-long package. I'll look.

    EDIT: Fort Worth. $12.95 -- do yourself a favor and wire the speakers separate from the harness. Otherwise you'll need a common ground adapter from Crutchfield.
    Last I heard, someone ordered one of these but never ended up getting it. Not sure if that is actually currently available.

    This is the thread: http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?15...hlight=harness

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •