Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: DMCH Headlight Switch Questions.

  1. #1
    Senior Member DMCVegas's Avatar
    Join Date:  Oct 2011

    Location:  Las Vegas

    Posts:    2,406

    My VIN:    6585

    Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK)

    DMCH Headlight Switch Questions.

    Digging through everything, I've come across my replacement headlight switch I got from DMCH. I have the switch and logic box, but no instructions or anything else. I'll have to keep digging to try and find them, or just contact DMCH to see if I can get a replacement set of installation instructions.

    In the mean time, while searching the threads I have seen occasional complaints about the headlights randomly turning off with these replacement units. Was there an updated version of this switch that came out later on that I should know about? Or is it a simple modification?
    Robert

    Board Member, DeLorean Owners Association



    Recording Secretary

  2. #2
    DMC Midwest - 815.459.6439 DMCMW Dave's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Crystal Lake IL

    Posts:    5,027

    My VIN:    05429

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCVegas View Post
    Digging through everything, I've come across my replacement headlight switch I got from DMCH. I have the switch and logic box, but no instructions or anything else. I'll have to keep digging to try and find them, or just contact DMCH to see if I can get a replacement set of installation instructions.

    In the mean time, while searching the threads I have seen occasional complaints about the headlights randomly turning off with these replacement units. Was there an updated version of this switch that came out later on that I should know about? Or is it a simple modification?
    The very early versions had a connection that you could optionally make so that the lights would turn off with the ignition. This feature proved to cause a problem and was eliminated from later versions. If you have the early one, just leave that wire disconnected.
    Dave S
    DMC Midwest - retired but helping
    dswingle@DeLorean.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    6,684

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCMW Dave View Post
    The very early versions had a connection that you could optionally make so that the lights would turn off with the ignition. This feature proved to cause a problem and was eliminated from later versions. If you have the early one, just leave that wire disconnected.
    I wonder if that AC compressor glitch caused that problem on the few cars. Of course because of liability you can't use that function.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  4. #4
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    I wonder if that AC compressor glitch caused that problem on the few cars. Of course because of liability you can't use that function.
    I had a very early version, probably 1st. It had the auto off/delay. I received a notice from Warren iirc about them suddenly going off and to follow included instructions to disable the function. Long story short, we found fluctuations in the power supplied seemed to be causing it. Giving it its own ground and power supply (through a rely from battery) seemed to solve the problem. So, that sounds right. I know kicking on a stereo amplifier would do it.


    Robert,
    If you think you have the same version and/or don't have any luck, PM me. I ask the new owner if he has the docs tonight (I think so).
    If not I'll try to dig them up.

  5. #5
    Senior Member DMCVegas's Avatar
    Join Date:  Oct 2011

    Location:  Las Vegas

    Posts:    2,406

    My VIN:    6585

    Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCMW Dave View Post
    The very early versions had a connection that you could optionally make so that the lights would turn off with the ignition. This feature proved to cause a problem and was eliminated from later versions. If you have the early one, just leave that wire disconnected.
    Which wire would that be? Likewise, do you have a copy of the instructions and schematics that I can use? If it is really needed, do you also have the black connector on it's own if I cannot find it? I know I have two kits, but I also have ANOTHER bunch of boxes/crates of stuff at another location I have to locate and go through.


    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    I had a very early version, probably 1st. It had the auto off/delay. I received a notice from Warren iirc about them suddenly going off and to follow included instructions to disable the function. Long story short, we found fluctuations in the power supplied seemed to be causing it. Giving it its own ground and power supply (through a rely from battery) seemed to solve the problem. So, that sounds right. I know kicking on a stereo amplifier would do it.


    Robert,
    If you think you have the same version and/or don't have any luck, PM me. I ask the new owner if he has the docs tonight (I think so).
    If not I'll try to dig them up.
    Oh yes, I know for a fact it's an early version. First batch shipped.
    https://web.archive.org/web/20060110...ightswitch.asp

    Is there an additional delay like modern vehicles if the key is removed? Also, how the hell is it powered to enable this function? Is it through the console lights feed acting as a trigger? Because I purposefully disabled the daytime function on my car to keep the A/C panel cool.
    Robert

    Board Member, DeLorean Owners Association



    Recording Secretary

  6. #6
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCVegas View Post
    Oh yes, I know for a fact it's an early version. First batch shipped.
    https://web.archive.org/web/20060110...ightswitch.asp

    Is there an additional delay like modern vehicles if the key is removed? Also, how the hell is it powered to enable this function? Is it through the console lights feed acting as a trigger?
    No, like Dave said...iirc, the key had to be in the ignition switch, and it turned on. If you had the headlights on and turned off the switch, the headlights would stay on for ~1/2 minute.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Previously Ireland, now New Jersey

    Posts:    333

    My VIN:    4 Seater DMC24

    Club(s):   (DMA)

    There was also an issue with a 5A fuse included with the kit being undersized if I remember correctly - should be replaced with a 20A?

  8. #8
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCVegas View Post
    Is there an additional delay like modern vehicles if the key is removed?
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    No, like Dave said...iirc, the key had to be in the ignition switch, and it turned on. If you had the headlights on and turned off the switch, the headlights would stay on for ~1/2 minute.
    I guess you got it but just in case- I just noticed my reply was probably confusing.
    I should of said "Yes (there is only one),...."
    ...had a brain fart and let "additional" throw me off lol

    Also: My guy retreated to SC to avoid the cold snap we had (26F@night)....back this weekend. But, it seems the other wires would be the same as later versions (not sure)...maybe ask "The other Dave" ;-)

    Edit: Removed misidentified wire info.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,106

    My VIN:    16409

    Quote Originally Posted by DMCVegas View Post
    Which wire would that be? Likewise, do you have a copy of the instructions and schematics that I can use? If it is really needed, do you also have the black connector on it's own if I cannot find it? I know I have two kits, but I also have ANOTHER bunch of boxes/crates of stuff at another location I have to locate and go through.
    The wire for the auto-off was an orange wire. I had two units that had the orange wire. I just clipped it off and set it aside. I also have a 20 amp inline-fuse.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  10. #10
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •