Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Mystery connector

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2016

    Posts:    64

    Mystery connector

    I have almost everything figured out in the engine bay, except this.

    Whatís it for and where does it go?




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,584

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    There is only one Black/Blue stripe wire I know of...So, if that is a Black/Blue stripe and a Black/Light Green stripe (BLG) on one side of the plug, and a Black (B) on the other side, I'd guess it is for the Idle Speed Switch (or mixed- with the Vacuum Solenoid wiring if the single is Green, or, it's for the 1uF Capacitor -- Hard to tell in pic).

    Image2.jpg

  3. #3
    Mr. Pickles-mobile Shep's Avatar
    Join Date:  Sep 2011

    Location:  Middleburg Heights, OH

    Posts:    1,933

    My VIN:    559

    Post a pic straight-on too, looks like one of the old "church steeple" connectors, but I can't tell if the black wire with a blue stripe is sharing a spot with the other black wire or if that's adjacent to it.

    Also, where in the engine bay are we, can we zoom out quite a bit for context? And another pic chasing it as far down the rabbit hole as you can. More pics = more clarity.
    Proud owner and operator of



    Main site (OUTDATED) -- Product update thread!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2016

    Posts:    64

    Thanks so far guys!

    It exits the wiring loom just upstream of the green wires that go in The Valley.

    One black and one black/blue are joined in one side of the connector, the other is a single black.

    Iíll post more pictures later.
    M


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,584

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    1uF Capacitor

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2016

    Posts:    64




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,584

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    ??
    In the 2nd pic, it looks like a single Black on one side and two striped wires (black/blue & black/Light Green?) on the other to me...

    (I second the motion to post a straight on shot down into the plug ;-)

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2016

    Posts:    64

    Here you go


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2016

    Posts:    64

    And behold, another one surfaced



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Mr. Pickles-mobile Shep's Avatar
    Join Date:  Sep 2011

    Location:  Middleburg Heights, OH

    Posts:    1,933

    My VIN:    559

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post
    (black/blue & black/Light Green?)
    That's a black/light blue on both, there's no green there. This is why I love my calibrated monitors.

    For what it's worth, that same connector on my car if memory serves has been disconnected for quite some time, I could only tell where in the engine bay it was by the recall paint on your firewall, and then realizing I was looking at the engine cover stay in the background. Lots of blurry metal in these shots (can you zoom out some more for Ron though? The wires I think we can see fine, but we need to see the wires in the surrounding context). Given what happened to my car however, I'm not necessarily saying leaving that plug disconnected is a good thing. At all. I destroyed an engine from the inside out by flooding it with fuel on a constant basis, so I can tell you what my car did, but don't use me as a benchmark unless the word "n00b" is used to refer to me, seriously (I grounded on an ECU input because the wire was black and "obvious ground"....... nope!)

    Can you zoom out on the new connector also? Show like a quarter of the engine bay if you can, I have a hunch on that one, but until I know where this harness is found in the engine bay, I don't want to misguide.
    Proud owner and operator of



    Main site (OUTDATED) -- Product update thread!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •