Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No brake lights

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2013

    Location:  Belgium

    Posts:    48

    My VIN:    5433

    No brake lights

    Went for a drive today and it turned out that I donít have any brake lights. All other lights are fine.
    I think itís the brake lights switch.
    If I connect the 2 green wires with each other shouldnít the brake lights come on? Mine donít.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    6,925

    My VIN:    03572

    The two switch wires should be green/purple. Some cars have a glass fuse in the harness by the brake switch.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2013

    Location:  Belgium

    Posts:    48

    My VIN:    5433

    Yes, you're right they are green/purple. If I connect those 2 wires the brake lights don't light up.

  4. #4
    Not really banned Michael's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Posts:    3,248

    The very first thing to check is always the fuse. I had a friend who practically tore his car apart because it wouldn't start. Turned out to be a fuse.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Surrey, United Kingdom

    Posts:    140

    My VIN:    04708

    Club(s):   (DCH)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    The two switch wires should be green/purple. Some cars have a glass fuse in the harness by the brake switch.
    ^^ This!!! Check for an inline fuse somewhere near the brake switch/steering column.
    DeLorean Club

    The Future's Bright....
    The Future's DeLorean Club

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2013

    Location:  Belgium

    Posts:    48

    My VIN:    5433

    One of the green/purple wires at the brake switch has 12v. I would expect when I connect the the wires at the switch the brake lights would come on. Also when the fuse was blown I don't think there would 12v on the green purple wire.

  7. #7
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,424

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Pascal View Post
    One of the green/purple wires at the brake switch has 12v. I would expect when I connect the the wires at the switch the brake lights would come on. Also when the fuse was blown I don't think there would 12v on the green purple wire.
    Check the Green/Purple connection at the Black Bulkhead Connector for voltage, corrosion.

  8. #8
    Delorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Northern NJ

    Posts:    6,500

    My VIN:    10757

    Club(s):   (DMA)

    One possibility is the filaments for the brake lights are burned out. See if there is power to them when you jumper the brake light switch or just check the bulbs.
    David Teitelbaum

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2013

    Location:  Belgium

    Posts:    48

    My VIN:    5433

    Yesterday I jumped the two wires at the brake switch very quickly with a loose wire. Today I Jumped the two wires with a proper jumper cable and it turned out that the brake switch is broken.
    Already ordered a new brake switch and the proper jumper cable stays from now on in the car.

    Thanks for all your solutions.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •