FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How To: Add a Garage Door Opener to the Dummy Switch

My VIN:    3349

Club(s):   (SCDC) (DCUK)

How To: Add a Garage Door Opener to the Dummy Switch

Everyone this is my first try at producing any type of directions, but I hope it helps someone. This is a pretty simple and easy project. It took about an hour from start to finish.

How to add a Garage Door Opener to the Dummy Switch in your DMC-12
    By Sean Thompson, Owner 03349
    Tools Needed
    1) Safety Glasses and Gloves (Z87)
    2) Garage Door Opener (already programmed to open and close your garage)
    3) Delorean Electrical Window switch (101177) and connectors
    4) Wire
    5) Soldering Iron(electrical solder flux, sponge)
    6) Wire Cutters Strippers
    7) Flathead Screw Driver
    Multi-meter
    Tools

Step 1

Remove ashtray and dummy switch (They should just pop up.)
    Step 2

Open the Garage Door Opener casing, most likely you will need to remove the battery door before prying open the case. I used a flat head screw driver to pry it apart (gently). Some garage door openers are held together with a small screw (you may need to add a small Philips to the tools list, but for my project it was not needed), this Genie brand pops open. You should wear gloves during this (do as I say not as I did LOL) Once open you will see the battery and circuit board.

Step 3

Remove the circuit board from the case. For now leave the battery in the circuit board, you will be opening and closing your garage door during this process (but that double checks your connection). Flip over the circuit board, You will need to test the “dots” on the back of the circuit board) set your multimeter to continuity mode. Test the “dots” on the back of the circuit board, Odds are your garage door opens or closed when you select the two correct “dots”

Step 4