Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 35 of 35

Thread: New Fuel Gauge Circuit

  1. #31
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,212

    My VIN:    03572

    Last tank fill

    I put clear tubing on the pump return pipe so I could see when the tank overfilled.

    42 Qt 176.7 ohms
    44 Qt 182.4 ohms
    46 Qt 188.3 ohms
    48 Qt 200.5 ohms
    50 Qt 206.7 ohms
    52 Qt 218.2 ohms

    53 Qt 218.3 ohms
    54 Qt 223.9 ohms
    55 Qt 229.0 ohms
    56 Qt 234.3 ohms
    57 Qt 234.3 ohms
    58 Qt 243.6 ohms
    59 Qt 243.8 ohms.........overflowed 6 inches above top of tank. My old sender showed leaking also. So I pumped out 1 gallon and called my test done.

    So it looks my my tank fills to 14.5 gallons. Not that you could use all that fuel since you can't pump the tank dry.
    Last edited by Bitsyncmaster; 02-17-2019 at 12:12 PM.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  2. #32
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,212

    My VIN:    03572

    Results

    I like doing testing to learn about things.

    I'm using the DMCH V-band clamp which seems to work fine with this pump. I would guess the DMCH pump is a little thicker at the top because it's plastic and their clamp may be even better with that pump. If you buy their clamp remember to get the OEM sender plug they sell. Wish I saw that when I bought mine. I will probably turn an aluminum plug when I get some free time.

    I have the electrical connector and pins coming this week. When I verify it's the correct one I will post the part numbers. Right now I have an Ebay connector which fits but it has wires in the wrong pins (pump wires should be 14 AWG and sender wires smaller).

    I never knew the pump would have little flow with a very low tank level. I would guess the OEM pump does the same.

    I love the quick line connects. Would make on the road replacement very quick.

    My pump is a very tight fit into the tank opening. Even after I shaved the flashing off the opening with an exacto knife it still is very tight. I put a little synthetic grease on the rubber ring an that seemed to help a little getting the pump seated.

    The pump draws 6.8 amps at 12.6 volts but current drops when the tank level gets very low.

    Looks like I have to cut my closing "plate" to clear the electrical connector on the pump.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  3. #33
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,212

    My VIN:    03572

    OEM sensor sealing plug

    I've never had any luck with sealing my Zilla fuel sensor. Looking at the tank hole I see why it had problems. First there is a notch cut into the tank hole I guess was used with the OEM sensor. The Zilla sensor had an O-ring to seal it and that notch is cut deeper than what the O-ring could seal. Second is the metal plate on the Zilla sensor it very thin. It looks like the plate has to be greater than 1/8" thick (plate and gasket) to have the ring that screws onto the tank put any force sealing the sensor down.

    So it looks like I need to make a flat gasket and a thick plate so the gasket will seal outside of that notch cut in the tank.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  4. #34
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,206

    My VIN:    16409

    Dave I was able to add another layer of foam pad on the closing plate to raise it up. I had to re-drill a couple screw holes to line up properly. But I thought that was a better solution that cut into the plate itself. I didn't put all the screws back in either. I used two on the bottom and three along the top edge.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  5. #35
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,212

    My VIN:    03572

    Well I bought the connector, pins, seals (this is a waterproof connector) and it turns out I need a special crimper because the wire seals are also crimped with the pins.

    But the connector I bought on Ebay I was able to move the wires. Two wires look like 14 AWG and two look like 18 AWG and with my pump the the 14 AWG wires are in the wrong place. Well I found out the gray plastic cover over the pins just lifts off and then you can pull the wires and pins just using a little screw driver.

    So I would suggest anyone installing the same pump to buy an already wired connector on Ebay. Here is the one I bought.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Airtex-...72.m2749.l2649
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •