Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: V-band clamp for GM fuel pump

  1. #11
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,338

    My VIN:    03572

    My pump is ready to install but I will need 10 mm hose clamps for the ones I removed. Don't really need the clamp on the return hose so wonder why they put one there. These "plastic" flex hoses must be heat pressed onto the pump and pipes.

    I did cut that stud off but it was a PITA to cut with a hacksaw blade.

    Edit: Forgot to state this pump only needs to compress about a half an inch to seat onto the tank.
    Last edited by Bitsyncmaster; 02-09-2019 at 05:50 PM.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  2. #12
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,338

    My VIN:    03572

    Photo of pump modified

    Forgot to attach a photo
    Attached Images
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  3. #13
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,244

    My VIN:    16409

    Dave, this is the pump I am using.

    https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo...353721&jsn=492

    It's an AC Delco brand Made in Mexico unit. It does not have that offset like you mentioned. Maximum pressures is rated at 109 PSI (750 KPA). Most pumps aren't listed with a max pressure rating.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  4. #14
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,338

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris 16409 View Post
    Dave, this is the pump I am using.

    https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo...353721&jsn=492

    It's an AC Delco brand Made in Mexico unit. It does not have that offset like you mentioned. Maximum pressures is rated at 109 PSI (750 KPA). Most pumps aren't listed with a max pressure rating.
    Looks good. I think all the GM pumps will work fine. Just make sure the float (if your using the sender) is pointed to the back or drivers side. Our tank opening is near the front and near the passenger side of the tank. My pump looks the same but has a metal plate and metal pipes. I also think there are two types of 4 pin connectors. Mine is the flat 4 pin type. I have seen some double rows of 2 pins.

    I ordered some hose clamps 8mm to 10 mm on ebay. Nobody had those small sizes with screw clamp in my area. When I get those I can finish my install. I had 1/4" hose on my pump lines and decided to keep that hose. I think most people are using 5/16" hose.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  5. #15
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,338

    My VIN:    03572

    I thought of a better test of these fuel pumps. Easy with these quick connect hoses, pull the return hose and measure the flow without the engine running (Fuel pump powered). So that would measure the flow at 75 PSI.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  6. #16
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,338

    My VIN:    03572

    Today was nice and I wrapped up soldering inventory for now. So I did a leak test by filling the tank past full (about 6 inches above the tank) and waited about one hour and had no leaks.

    Then I cut my closing plate to clear the new pump. My Dremal broke (I think the armature broke wires) so I will have to finish another day. Not much clearance needed. It does sit right on the V-band clamp but did not need to cut for that.
    Attached Images
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  7. #17
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,338

    My VIN:    03572

    I just thought of something I should have tried. To use a heat gun to see if I could have molded that plastic panel rather than cut it.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  8. #18
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,244

    My VIN:    16409

    Like I mentioned before, I just added an extra layer of foam insulation tape to the closing plate. It raised it up enough to give me enough clearance. I then just had to drill a couple new holes so it would align with the rivnuts in the tub.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Nov 2014

    Location:  Alexandria, VA

    Posts:    190

    I pushed the connector to rotate and face the rear of the car, giving me just enough clearance to close.

  10. #20
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,244

    My VIN:    16409

    Dave did you have a part number/size/brand of V-band clamp you are using?
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •