Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: V-band clamp for GM fuel pump

  1. #11
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,196

    My VIN:    03572

    My pump is ready to install but I will need 10 mm hose clamps for the ones I removed. Don't really need the clamp on the return hose so wonder why they put one there. These "plastic" flex hoses must be heat pressed onto the pump and pipes.

    I did cut that stud off but it was a PITA to cut with a hacksaw blade.

    Edit: Forgot to state this pump only needs to compress about a half an inch to seat onto the tank.
    Last edited by Bitsyncmaster; 02-09-2019 at 06:50 PM.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  2. #12
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,196

    My VIN:    03572

    Photo of pump modified

    Forgot to attach a photo
    Attached Images
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  3. #13
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,204

    My VIN:    16409

    Dave, this is the pump I am using.

    https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo...353721&jsn=492

    It's an AC Delco brand Made in Mexico unit. It does not have that offset like you mentioned. Maximum pressures is rated at 109 PSI (750 KPA). Most pumps aren't listed with a max pressure rating.
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  4. #14
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,196

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris 16409 View Post
    Dave, this is the pump I am using.

    https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo...353721&jsn=492

    It's an AC Delco brand Made in Mexico unit. It does not have that offset like you mentioned. Maximum pressures is rated at 109 PSI (750 KPA). Most pumps aren't listed with a max pressure rating.
    Looks good. I think all the GM pumps will work fine. Just make sure the float (if your using the sender) is pointed to the back or drivers side. Our tank opening is near the front and near the passenger side of the tank. My pump looks the same but has a metal plate and metal pipes. I also think there are two types of 4 pin connectors. Mine is the flat 4 pin type. I have seen some double rows of 2 pins.

    I ordered some hose clamps 8mm to 10 mm on ebay. Nobody had those small sizes with screw clamp in my area. When I get those I can finish my install. I had 1/4" hose on my pump lines and decided to keep that hose. I think most people are using 5/16" hose.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  5. #15
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,196

    My VIN:    03572

    I thought of a better test of these fuel pumps. Easy with these quick connect hoses, pull the return hose and measure the flow without the engine running (Fuel pump powered). So that would measure the flow at 75 PSI.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •