Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Volt gauge intermittent

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2018

    Location:  Virginia

    Posts:    150

    My VIN:    1623

    Quote Originally Posted by DMC-81 View Post
    +1. Here are a couple pictures from that angle:



    Great! Thank you 😀

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2018

    Location:  Virginia

    Posts:    150

    My VIN:    1623

    I cleaned the ground today (it needed it) but that didn't solve the issue. It's weird, I had the car idling in my garage and for the first 10 minutes the gauge didn't move. Then it suddenly sprang to life. When it happened while driving I figured a bump in the road had shaken something to make it not work / work.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Burnsville MN-Moving to Kalispell MT. in June 20111

    Posts:    786

    My VIN:    2691

    ground

    I welded the head of a bolt to the frame and ran
    all the ground wires to that....

  4. #14
    Delorean Guru
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Northern NJ

    Posts:    6,912

    My VIN:    10757

    Club(s):   (DMA)

    It is most likely now a problem with the connection to the flexible printed foil in the binnacle. You might want to get a new printed circuit before you take the binnacle out. Also possible (but unlikely) the gauge is bad.
    David Teitelbaum

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Oct 2014

    Location:  Virginia Beach, Virginia

    Posts:    279

    My VIN:    5312

    Hey just wanted to let you know I took my binnacle off few weeks ago and put her all back together again and had an issue like this. it really is probably just slightly loose and when you drive it moves ust enough. I have to take mine off again to actually replace the volt/temp gauge since my temp side is busted. Good luck!
    - OCT81 DeLorean DMC-12 Vin 5312 "DeLores"
    - 1978 Lotus Esprit S2 "Problem Child"
    - 1990 Mazda Miata "Happy Daily Driver"

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2012

    Location:  St. Louis, MO

    Posts:    230

    My VIN:    10084

    Volt gauge intermittent

    I had the exact same problem several years ago. After cleaning the grounds and verifying all of the connections, I replaced the volt gauge. I havenít had a problem since.
    Michael Todd
    St. Louis

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2018

    Location:  Virginia

    Posts:    150

    My VIN:    1623

    Quote Originally Posted by cybercusp View Post
    I had the exact same problem several years ago. After cleaning the grounds and verifying all of the connections, I replaced the volt gauge. I havenít had a problem since.
    Thanks. I hope itís just a connection!

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Aug 2018

    Location:  Virginia

    Posts:    150

    My VIN:    1623

    Quote Originally Posted by David T View Post
    It is most likely now a problem with the connection to the flexible printed foil in the binnacle. You might want to get a new printed circuit before you take the binnacle out. Also possible (but unlikely) the gauge is bad.
    Thanks. Iíll pull the binnacle and check the connections. Iím hoping that works.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •