Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Fuel Pump Setup - Original Style - $25

  1. #1
    Senior Member Citizen's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Houston, TX

    Posts:    704

    My VIN:    3341

    Fuel Pump Setup - Original Style - $25

    • Original style fuel pump setup, which I replaced with the new integrated pump/sender unit a few years ago.
    • Used fuel line and filter included
    • Pump was working when I replaced it, but had previously failed when the fuel got too hot (I added new fuel to get going again)
    • Price based on other used pumps posted
    • Shipped from Texas, $10 should cover shipping to most anywhere in US


    DeLo-fuel-pump.jpg

    Please PM me here.

    Thanks,
    Thomas

    ...
    Keeper of the DeLorean Owners Directory, at www.DeloreanOwnersDirectory.net

  2. #2
    Senior Member Chris 16409's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Fresno, CA.

    Posts:    1,244

    My VIN:    16409

    Looks like your fuel sender is a tankzilla. Do you have the electronic control box?
    Chris Miles

    For Better or Worse I own a DeLorean!
    1983 Grey Manual, VIN #16409, Fresno, California

  3. #3
    Senior Member Citizen's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Houston, TX

    Posts:    704

    My VIN:    3341

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris 16409 View Post
    Looks like your fuel sender is a tankzilla. Do you have the electronic control box?
    No, sorry. Not Tankzilla AFAIK. It's all original, at least it's what came with the car when I bought it. What you see in the picture is all I have (fuel related).

    T.

    Last edited by Citizen; 03-03-2019 at 01:31 PM.
    Keeper of the DeLorean Owners Directory, at www.DeloreanOwnersDirectory.net

  4. #4
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,324

    My VIN:    03572

    Yes that looks like the TankZilla sender. It would not have worked without the Zilla electronic box. I just pulled my TankZilla and that sender looks the same, unless someone found another sender which worked with 90 ohms full and 0 ohms empty.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  5. #5
    Senior Member Citizen's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Houston, TX

    Posts:    704

    My VIN:    3341

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    Yes that looks like the TankZilla sender. It would not have worked without the Zilla electronic box. I just pulled my TankZilla and that sender looks the same, unless someone found another sender which worked with 90 ohms full and 0 ohms empty.
    Ok, I yield to the pros, it's a TankZilla. But I still don't find the ECU. Where should I be looking? I looked in the fuse/relay area, and I don't see it.

    IMG_20190326_105118240.jpg

    And I looked in my DeLorean parts save box, and don't see it there (nor remember removing it when I installed the new combo unit).

    So, if I don't have the ECU, a price drop is certainly in order. How about $15 for everything in the original post, + $10 shipping. I just hate throwing things away.

    Thomas

    ...
    Keeper of the DeLorean Owners Directory, at www.DeloreanOwnersDirectory.net

  6. #6
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,324

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by Citizen View Post
    Ok, I yield to the pros, it's a TankZilla. But I still don't find the ECU. Where should I be looking? I looked in the fuse/relay area, and I don't see it.

    IMG_20190326_105118240.jpg


    And I looked in my DeLorean parts save box, and don't see it there (nor remember removing it when I installed the new combo unit).

    So, if I don't have the ECU, a price drop is certainly in order. How about $15 for everything in the original post, + $10 shipping. I just hate throwing things away.

    Thomas

    ...
    It would be a box mounted close to the sender location.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Posts:    4,449

    My VIN:    3937

    Quote Originally Posted by Citizen View Post
    Ok, I yield to the pros, it's a TankZilla. But I still don't find the ECU. Where should I be looking? I looked in the fuse/relay area, and I don't see it.

    IMG_20190326_105118240.jpg

    And I looked in my DeLorean parts save box, and don't see it there (nor remember removing it when I installed the new combo unit).

    So, if I don't have the ECU, a price drop is certainly in order. How about $15 for everything in the original post, + $10 shipping. I just hate throwing things away.

    Thomas

    ...
    Maybe in the same hiding spot as the door lock module (which isn't in the photo where it normally would be). Do your power door locks work?

    Maybe some of those electronics got relocated to the little cubby with the battery. Or on the driver's side ECU tray area. Or the driver's side cubby.


    Sept. 81, auto, black interior

  8. #8
    Senior Member Citizen's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Houston, TX

    Posts:    704

    My VIN:    3341

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    It would be a box mounted close to the sender location.
    I'll take a look there, just have to go unload all my...a'hem, crap first : )

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan View Post
    Maybe in the same hiding spot as the door lock module (which isn't in the photo where it normally would be). Do your power door locks work?

    Maybe some of those electronics got relocated to the little cubby with the battery. Or on the driver's side ECU tray area. Or the driver's side cubby.
    I did look in the lower battery cubby, and didn't see anything. I did not look on the driver's side area...I'll do that as well, and report back.

    Actually, now that you mention it, the power door locks do not work. As long as I've had the car, I've just always manually locked it whenever needed (rarely is it out of sight when I take it out somewhere).

    ...
    Keeper of the DeLorean Owners Directory, at www.DeloreanOwnersDirectory.net

  9. #9
    Senior Member Citizen's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  Houston, TX

    Posts:    704

    My VIN:    3341

    Quote Originally Posted by Citizen View Post
    I'll take a look there, just have to go unload all my...a'hem, crap first : )
    I did find a black box near the FP (see red arrow in picture). Is that it?

    IMG_20190326_123957517.jpg

    And now that I see it, I do remember it being there, and apparently not needed (not connected to anything), so I just left it there. I didn't know the control box was this size, about 1x2x4". I had been looking for a smaller black box, about 1x1x1, with wires coming out of it, based on a picture I saw somewhere on Talk. The box is attached (glued?) to the tub wall.

    Nothing found on the driver's side ECU tray, or the cubby.

    Assuming what is in the picture IS it, I'll remove it and include it with everything else, and honor the new $15 (plus $10 shipping) price.

    A big Thank You, to all of you who provided info!

    Thomas

    ...
    Last edited by Citizen; 03-26-2019 at 02:16 PM.
    Keeper of the DeLorean Owners Directory, at www.DeloreanOwnersDirectory.net

  10. #10
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,324

    My VIN:    03572

    My lockZilla (black) box is 3"x3"x1.5" and has 6 wires coming out of it.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •