Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Grounds and Capacitors

  1. #1
    Senior Member Josh's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2013

    Location:  SK, Canada

    Posts:    1,869

    My VIN:    11408

    Club(s):   (TXDMC)

    Grounds and Capacitors

    Hey Guys,

    I somewhat hastily removed the front harness and i seek some guidance for the re-installation.

    Everything is sitting nice, except for a long ground wire that goes from the grounding bundle on the radiator support bracket to an unknown location. It appears to be a later addition (update) to the car to improve the grounding. It is essentially a several foot long black wire with ring terminals on both ends.

    Furthermore, if i were to start removing all these silly capacitors that are sprinkled about the electrical system, are there are negative outcomes other than the possibility of radio feedback?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,333

    My VIN:    03572

    I removed my capacitors on the cooling fans without any problems. The capacitor on the idle switch is needed to prevent a misfire when the idle switch goes off.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  3. #3
    Senior Member Josh's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2013

    Location:  SK, Canada

    Posts:    1,869

    My VIN:    11408

    Club(s):   (TXDMC)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bitsyncmaster View Post
    I removed my capacitors on the cooling fans without any problems. The capacitor on the idle switch is needed to prevent a misfire when the idle switch goes off.
    Yeah I removed those without thinking twice. double the amount of connectors to corrode and impede the use of the cooling fans.
    As for engine electronics... nothing original there so not a concern.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Josh's Avatar
    Join Date:  Mar 2013

    Location:  SK, Canada

    Posts:    1,869

    My VIN:    11408

    Club(s):   (TXDMC)

    Also, looking at Bill's grounding thread I realized the ground wire in question goes to the filler neck.

  5. #5
    '82 T3 FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Lansing, MI

    Posts:    807

    My VIN:    10270

    No filter caps has the potential to add noise to sensors.
    Luke S :: 10270 :: 82 Grey 5-Speed :: Single Watercooled T3 .60/.48 :: Borla Exhaust :: MSD Ignition :: MS3X Fully SFI Odd-fire EFI :: DevilsOwn Methanol Injection

    Console5.com - Game console parts, kits, games and more. [shop] [wiki] [RSS] [f] [t]

  6. #6
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,333

    My VIN:    03572

    Caps do reduce some noise but most automotive noise is due to switching inductive loads on and off. For that kind of noise it works better to use a diode or zener to clamp ringing noise.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  7. #7
    '82 T3 FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Lansing, MI

    Posts:    807

    My VIN:    10270

    I agree, but caps seems to be what they used

    For example, while datalogging a car without caps on the idle switch, we would see a spike in measured RPM every time the throttle lifted and the advance solenoid opened.
    Luke S :: 10270 :: 82 Grey 5-Speed :: Single Watercooled T3 .60/.48 :: Borla Exhaust :: MSD Ignition :: MS3X Fully SFI Odd-fire EFI :: DevilsOwn Methanol Injection

    Console5.com - Game console parts, kits, games and more. [shop] [wiki] [RSS] [f] [t]

  8. #8
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,333

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy View Post
    I agree, but caps seems to be what they used

    For example, while datalogging a car without caps on the idle switch, we would see a spike in measured RPM every time the throttle lifted and the advance solenoid opened.
    Yes that would result and it also fires the RPM relay to prime if the engine is off. I do add another cap with my idle ECU that is on the ECU circuit board.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •