FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Curious Leak from AC Compressor?

  1. #11
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,489

    My VIN:    03572

    I once had a compressor bolt fall out (not on a DeLorean). The result was a leak like your seeing. The threads were stripped but it had held many years with no problems. I guess the factory had messed it up or some vibration that made if fail. I did fix it using a helicoil.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  2. #12
    Young Padawan With The DeLorean kings1527's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Oak Park, CA

    Posts:    955

    My VIN:    6575

    Unless you're looking to be real adventurous and have a bunch of time, I'd recommend just putting in a new compressor that's brand new from Sanden rather than NOS and it's also a direct drop in replacement. Same as the original. This is that compressor:

    http://store.sanden.com/index.php/4708.html

    I've had the same one in my car for about 5 years and it's been perfect. If you're using R12 like I am, simply drain out the PAG oil that is pre-filled at the factory and replace it with an equal amount of mineral oil. Fill the system with R12 and you're all set. If you're using r134a, even better. Just mount it, connect the hoses, and fill the system with refrigerant.

    The 4708 model of the SD7H15 couldn't be a more perfect fit for the DeLorean, no matter which refrigerant you're using.

    Alex Abdalla
    6575

    Late 1981, Grey 5-speed, 65k miles. Built 11/11/81

    A stock-look with modern, reliable technology.

    A full restoration with step-by-step "what I did" is in progress at www.delorean6575revisited.blogspot.com

  3. #13
    Senior Member SBL's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Treasure Island, FL

    Posts:    103

    My VIN:    10342

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    When all is correct, with stock compressor, using R134a, how many PSI should the low pressure read as you add the refrigerant? Will this vary based on the RPM or temp? I read somewhere that 35 PSI was acceptable.
    Steve Liggett
    Treasure Island, FL
    1982 automatic, VIN 10342, grey int

    Previous: VIN 5983, VIN 3670
    Who knows where my previous 1981 with 6 cylinder Chevy engine is these days (cannot find that VIN) ?

  4. #14
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,489

    My VIN:    03572

    Quote Originally Posted by SBL View Post
    When all is correct, with stock compressor, using R134a, how many PSI should the low pressure read as you add the refrigerant? Will this vary based on the RPM or temp? I read somewhere that 35 PSI was acceptable.
    The low pressure is controlled by the low pressure switch. Basically you should see it swinging about 25 to 45 PSI as the low pressure switch cuts in and out. It is not affected byt the amount of charge of the system.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  5. #15
    Senior Member SBL's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Treasure Island, FL

    Posts:    103

    My VIN:    10342

    Club(s):   (DCF)

    Thanks. That will be what I need, David.
    Steve Liggett
    Treasure Island, FL
    1982 automatic, VIN 10342, grey int

    Previous: VIN 5983, VIN 3670
    Who knows where my previous 1981 with 6 cylinder Chevy engine is these days (cannot find that VIN) ?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •