FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 70

Thread: Door Lock Procedure

  1. #41
    Senior Member Bitsyncmaster's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Leonardtown, MD

    Posts:    7,852

    My VIN:    03572

    Now I see your running actuators. If the timing on your door lock ECU is to short, it won't power the actuators long enough. The original fan Zilla the timing was to short for actuators. The OEM lock unit seemed to have plenty of time. What Zilla did was use the same circuit but used larger relays that needed more current and thus shortened the time. You can increase the time on either lock ECU by increasing the 1000 uf cap to a larger value. Adding another 1000 uf cap over the original ones will double the capacitance and hence double the time it powers the outputs.
    Dave M vin 03572
    http://dm-eng.weebly.com/

  2. #42
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    5,374

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Does using the key on the driver side make it lock and unlock?

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Asheville, N.C

    Posts:    173

    My VIN:    Latest VIN 83

    Club(s):   (DCF) (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    Door Lock Procedure

    Iíll check
    Last edited by FLYBOY; 04-29-2020 at 08:47 PM.

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Asheville, N.C

    Posts:    173

    My VIN:    Latest VIN 83

    Club(s):   (DCF) (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    Door Lock Procedure

    Well so far, going back through it again...
    After I readjusted the driver door
    If I leave the front (non adjustable) (and lord knows I tried to adjust) lock release disconnected and the exterior key lock rod
    Everything works fine!
    The front lock latch appears to stick so Iíll change that out tomorrow.. and see, I think I have a spare.
    Iíll add the exterior key lock after that.
    But after most of the day on the driver door some progress?
    It only doesnít throw on the driver door so I donít think it would be the relays but Bitsycner did look at the relays and there were fine so not sure

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by FLYBOY; 04-30-2020 at 12:15 AM.

  5. #45
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    5,374

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    If I'm following correctly, it went from working with the rear lock link ("lock rod", post 35) disconnected, to working with the front lock link ("lock latch") disconnected. That be the case, I don't see the problem being either latch.

    When you put the front lock link in the bellcrank, make sure that the arm at the front latch is pulled toward the bellcrank (unlocked position). With the actuator retracted (unlocked position), pull on the rod to eliminate any slack and bend it so that it will slip into its bellcrank hole without moving the bellcrank. Make sure that the arm at the rear latch is pulled toward the bellcrank (unlocked position). Pull on the rod to eliminate any slack and adjust it so that it will slip into its bellcrank hole without moving the bellcrank. Make sure that the bends at the latch end of both links are oriented correctly and that both lock nuts are tight on the rear link. (If the ends are rotated wrong, the bends can work their way into the hole in the plastic arm and bind things up...)

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Asheville, N.C

    Posts:    173

    My VIN:    Latest VIN 83

    Club(s):   (DCF) (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    I was just waiting on a wiper arm since mine broke while adjusting and it wasnít making a good contact
    w/o rods. Anyway.
    Got the new one installed along with a new driver front latch just to be sure it doesnít jam up like the previous old one.
    Well everything is working fine except the dam front lock latch rod wonít reach (non adjustable) of course I tried bending it but to no Avail.
    Right now itís disconnected and even the launchers are working too but as soon as I connect it things bind up.
    I know some owners leave it disconnected but after weeks of work I hate to have one last rod not connected
    I want Success any suggestions maybe a new rod?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Burnsville MN-Moving to Kalispell MT. in June 20111

    Posts:    859

    My VIN:    2691

    lock rod

    been running 20 years without front lock
    rod.....no problems...

  8. #48
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    5,374

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    A new rod isn't going to be any longer...
    I don't think the front one usually needs much bending, if at all. Maybe try bending it back like it was or match the one in the other door.
    If it all works now w/o the front rod, I would think you could them lengthen the rear link until the front slips in freely. Then move the actuator/solenoid assembly to get the wiper arm back into position.
    ...double check that the latches release at the same time afterwards.

  9. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jun 2012

    Location:  Asheville, N.C

    Posts:    173

    My VIN:    Latest VIN 83

    Club(s):   (DCF) (NCDMC) (DCUK)

    Ok so are ya sayin move everything alittle forward?


    I hesitant cause it took so long to get it this close but Iíll do it
    Now
    I one thing thats got me scratching my head, is the CLS is not working with 100% consistity on that driver door the locks donít get throw with the remote all the time, maybe 60/40 but by hand everything works 100%
    Now I have 12.6v on the battery but I noticed with a battery charger they do throw no problem with the remote


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #50
    Administrator Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    5,374

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by FLYBOY View Post
    Ok so are ya sayin move everything alittle forward
    Yes...after taking the rear rod out of the bellcrank.
    Everything is based off of the OEM length of the front rod. So even if you have to start over, you have to set the bellcrank off of it by moving the actuator, then go from there.

    Quote Originally Posted by FLYBOY View Post
    ...one thing thats got me scratching my head, is the CLS is not working with 100% consistity on that driver door the locks don’t get throw with the remote all the time, maybe 60/40 but by hand everything works 100%
    ??? Except when the front rod is disconnected, right?

    Quote Originally Posted by FLYBOY View Post
    Now I have 12.6v on the battery but I noticed with a battery charger they do throw no problem with the remote
    If the battery will turn the engine over by itself, it's not the problem.
    (12.6V doesn't mean there is enough amperage.)

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •