FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: R12 ac?

R12 ac?

My AC does not work. I'm in Florida, so it must work. The PO told me it did wnen parked two years ago. I am a licensed AC tech, so this is not too big of a deal. Obviously, the pressure has leaked down below the minimum to turn on the system. Back when they restricted R12, my brother bought quite a few bottles of it. So I could charge it with that. Do most of you convert to 134A? Is there less performance when you do that?

I sware there was a thread in the "how to" section titled "bullet proof AC". I figured I would read that when I got the chance. Now I can't find it. Could it have been deleted?

Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

Expect higher pressures and lower performance with 134a.

Maybe this link?:
    http://dmctalk.org/showthread.php?15...ofing-your-A-C

Motors about after dark Michael's Avatar

My VIN:    Banged your VIN'S mom

I bit the bullet a few years ago and converted to 134. I doubt any real R12 is left for us to get our hands on and finding a r12 machine is another hurdle. I had a nice r12 machine and about 12 cans of r12 substitute but decided to go the 134 route out of simplicity. It supposedly cools about 8-10 degrees less and I think you don't use as much freon with the newer stuff. You might need to adjust your pressure switch so the fans still cycle at the right pressures.

I sold my machine but it sure was pretty. Had that cool vintage tool look that I love but it took up a lot of space.

20150611_175448.jpg20150611_175308.jpg20150611_175253.jpg20150611_175228.jpg

Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    ...and I think you don't use as much freon with the newer stuff. You might need to adjust your pressure switch so the fans still cycle at the right pressures.
    I think you meant compressor.

======

Changing over means a full flush, different oil, and a new accumulator (some say hoses too).