FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Relays

My VIN:    5436

Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK) (DOC-UK)

Relays

We're working our way through the "stuff to do" list on the car, and here's something else I'd like to look at.
    When I was waiting for my car to be delivered I did a bit of reading, and saw various articles on the dodgy original relays in the car, and how they could fail/melt/explode/go on fire etc. (delete as applicable!)

Now I'm no electrician, the best I can do is wire a plug. Here's a photo of the compartment, is there anything I should upgrade or can I rest easy?

Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

Looks pretty clean! Do you know what your circuit breakers are rated for? The rectangular silver bits with 2 posts and either 4 or 2 wires going to it next to the fuse box. You should consider bumping them up to a 30 and a 40 breaker if you have not done so yet.
    eBay selling at it's best I can tell you stock Delorians and quite a bit of slugs so the Turbo is a super nice up-grade.
    K-Jet: Causing electrical issues since November 5th 1955

Quietly enjoying ownership Cory W's Avatar

My VIN:    4692

Remove the fuse box cover. Put it on a shelf somewhere. Also, pull every fuse, one at a time, and reseat. That helps remove any oxidization that may have built up over time (which causes electrical resistance). These two steps can help prevent fusebox meltdown.

My VIN:    5436

Club(s):   (DOA) (DCUK) (DOC-UK)

Not sure about the breakers; I'll see if I can find out tonight!
    Several places like DMCH and DMC EU have relay upgrade kits; I wonder if what I have is one of those? It was done by a previous owner so I have no way of knowing.

Funny you mentioned the fuses; one of the sockets was partially melted but still functional, I think it was the high beam headlight fuse. Needless to say we replaced it.
    What would have caused that?

My friends think I'm nuts jawn101's Avatar

My VIN:    02100