FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Door Strut Replacement

My VIN:    3589

Door Strut Replacement

I just received my Louver/Hood/Door replacement kit from DMC Houston, and am ready to replace all the shocks/struts. The Hood and the Louver is pretty straight forward, just use a little screwdriver to remove the struts and replace them with new, no problem.

The Door struts however are a little different, as they don't have the little "clips" on the ends to remove the struts with. What am I missing? Do you just "Pull Hard"? The kit came with some extra "fastening" clips also. What do I do with those?

I'm just getting into restoring 3589, but I'm seriously tired of holding up the doors/louvers/hood with brrom handles, so this is the very first thing to replace.

Anything special to R & R'ing the Door Struts? My Doors do not stay open at all (the passenger door will stay about 3" open if I lower it slowly, I'm hoping it just need struts. I really hope it does not need Torsion Bars ($$$). This car sat for 25 years in the back of a garage, hopefully, just a set of struts...

Thanks, Doogie

President, DeLorean Industries

My VIN:    5646,5080, 5880, 10234, 3639, 2518, 10586, 1538

Hi Doogie,
    The clips on the struts are simple to operate for the doors. The edge of the clip has a rolled edge. Simply flip this up and pull the clip out. This releases the ball stud from the piston end. To release the piston from the pivot studs you will need to apply a little force. While supporting the door use the palm of your hand to knock the piston loose. This is also a good time to check the condition of the failure prone lower ball stud mounting points. If the stud is loose or bent outwards away from the car this should be addressed.