FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: The story of VIN 573 or yet another restoration thread

My VIN:    573

The story of VIN 573 or yet another restoration thread

Hi folks,

I started a little report on the old “dmctalk.com”. As we all lost our threads there I start now a new one here.

First of all, a few words about me. I am an engineer in the high-tech environment (hard- and software development). I am married and I have two daughters who love to work with me on my cars. Together we are living in Munich, Germany.

My passion about cars started when I was a kid. One of my favorite cars at my early days was a 69-Corvette, the other one was the DeLorean.
    I spent about 1 hour at the BTTF Display at the Universal Studios in California back in 1988 to be near the DeLorean time machine. Awesome, when I touched the stainless for the first time.

In 2002 I bought a 69-Corvette, which I restored to its original specification.

Here you see me with my first classic beauty.

Of course this is a DeLorean forum, but if you want to have a glance at the corvette feeling, you can check out an older video I did.

BTW: Did you know that JZD drove a 69-corvette as well? Check this out…

After 7 years I sold the corvette to someone just a few blocks away from me. This was not planned - it was plain luck for me. This way I get to see the car from time to time and I can even drive with it now and then.
    After one year of “classic car abstinence”, I was missing this special spirit - driving my old corvette twice a year simply wasn’t enough. So once again I started again to look for a classic car.

As you may guess, it was now a DeLorean I was looking for. I read a lot of stuff on the web and I talked to Wolfgang Hank (http://www.deloman.de) who is a real expert and a great guy.