Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Automatic Transmission Governor

  1. #11
    Junior Member RamonetB's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  State College, PA

    Posts:    4

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron View Post


    EDIT: FYI- I believe the .com stuff is being resurected...

    I believe you're right, Ron! There was such a massive repository of information on that site. It's the one stop place for DeLorean info.

    Glad to see you found this, Kevin! I was worried it had disappeared. I'll have to see if I still have an old copy of the multisim files of the circuit hiding somewhere on my old system.
    Papa Smurfy Member

  2. #12
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Last edited by Ron; 10-29-2011 at 01:28 AM.

  3. #13
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)


  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date:  Feb 2013

    Location:  Indianapolis, Indiana

    Posts:    26

    My VIN:    1695

    I recently created a post about the governor. Is it possible to adjust the WOT shift points by modifying some resistor values?

  5. #15
    Never mind Gary's Avatar
    Join Date:  Oct 2014

    Location:  Battle Ground. WA.

    Posts:    61

    My VIN:    4018

    Club(s):   (PNDC)

    During a 4 year restoration, I updated the original transmission computer on my car. I replaced the caps and checked over the boards which looked ok to me. I'm not a engineering wiz or anything but I can be handy with tools and understand basic electronics. After all of that work, the governor was not shifting into 3rd.

    So I installed one of those gullwing design transmission computers. Everything shifts fine. 1st to 2nd at about 12-15 mph, 2nd to 3rd at about 22 mph. But that's it. I can press the throttle more and the shift points don't change. My linkage is adjusted and the throttle position lever on the transmission is traveling full swing. If I understand correctly the output of the computer is modified by this lever.

    Does anybody have experience with gullwing transmissions computers? Dose my right foot have an affect on the shift points?

    Gary

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Sep 2014

    Location:  West Sayville, N.Y.

    Posts:    1,250

    My VIN:    005058 000927

    Club(s):   (AZ-D) (DMA) (DOA) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gary View Post
    During a 4 year restoration, I updated the original transmission computer on my car. I replaced the caps and checked over the boards which looked ok to me. I'm not a engineering wiz or anything but I can be handy with tools and understand basic electronics. After all of that work, the governor was not shifting into 3rd.

    So I installed one of those gullwing design transmission computers. Everything shifts fine. 1st to 2nd at about 12-15 mph, 2nd to 3rd at about 22 mph. But that's it. I can press the throttle more and the shift points don't change. My linkage is adjusted and the throttle position lever on the transmission is traveling full swing. If I understand correctly the output of the computer is modified by this lever.

    Does anybody have experience with gullwing transmissions computers? Dose my right foot have an affect on the shift points?

    Gary
    Is your detent cable hooked up and adjusted to the specification in the workshop manual?
    Rob Grady

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jul 2015

    Location:  Tacoma, Wa

    Posts:    1,671

    My VIN:    4877

    Ok, so I had an idea and wondered if its possible....

    Was thinking to set up a little led strip that would light up to indicate the current gear. Could this be done? And preferably in a non-destructive way?
    Rob Depew
    Tacoma, Wa
    '81 DeLorean 4877 Grey, Auto, 4 wheels
    The Ressurection of 4877......
    Now Accepting Donations to get her back on the road

  8. #18
    Admins Never Retire Ron's Avatar
    Join Date:  Jun 2011

    Location:  North GA

    Posts:    4,207

    My VIN:    1669 (Sold) Working on "Other DeLorean" 66 GTO

    Club(s):   (SEDOC) (DCUK)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lwanmtr View Post
    Ok, so I had an idea and wondered if its possible....

    Was thinking to set up a little led strip that would light up to indicate the current gear. Could this be done? And preferably in a non-destructive way?
    See post #6, this thread.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date:  Jul 2015

    Location:  Tacoma, Wa

    Posts:    1,671

    My VIN:    4877

    Thanks..I missed that. Am thinking basically one light for each gear to keep track of what the tranny is doing while driving..plus its always cool to have neat lights..hehe.
    Rob Depew
    Tacoma, Wa
    '81 DeLorean 4877 Grey, Auto, 4 wheels
    The Ressurection of 4877......
    Now Accepting Donations to get her back on the road

  10. #20
    Voice For Hire Farrar's Avatar
    Join Date:  May 2011

    Location:  Long Island, New York

    Posts:    4,282

    My VIN:    02613

    Club(s):   (LINY-DMC) (DCUK)

    You would need a logic box, but it wouldn't be that hard to make.
    DeLorean status: test driving new engine

    "Our doubts are traitors,
    And make us lose the good we oft might win
    By fearing to attempt."
    -Wm. Shakespeare, Measure for Measure

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •