FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 1981 Delorean Restore.....First Car Restoration. Need Help.

1981 Delorean Restore.....First Car Restoration. Need Help.

I just bought a 1981 DeLorean from my friends dad that's been sitting in a garage for 20 years, I know, long time. It was only $2,000 i bought it for. Only 3,000 original miles, paint and leather interior is perfect. The car doesn't start and needs new hydraulics for the doors, fuel line, new starter, battery etc. Since this is my first car rebuild, I was wondering if anyone could help me since I'm just getting started with cars. The Delorean again, has been sitting in a garage in Los Angeles so no snow, for 20 years. The engine is still great. Just need to know what to do to get it running. Looks beautiful and want it running in two months, if you could give me some advice since DeLoreans are a special car to work on, that'd be great. Thanks, Andres

My VIN:    11596

Yikes, I hope you have at least $5000 in your pocket just for parts, more like $10,000 if you want to have a shop do it all for you!

You need all new fuel system, brake and clutch rebuild, replace every single hose, door hydraulics, new radiator, new tires, might as well tear down to the engine valley, water pump, probably air conditioning overhaul......

I just rebuilt a DeLorean for an owner sitting since 1990. It cost him $5000 in parts just to get drivable without worrying about getting stranded. It took me 3 months and over 80 hours of work, and I already had experience.

This won't be just a wham-bam fixer upper. I'm sure everyone else will say the same.

Andy
    Andy Lien

VIN 11596 Jan 1982 build - owned since Nov. 2000!
    Total frame-off restoration completed 2021-2023

Photography and Backpacking is life.

Was Fargo, ND
    Now Kansas City

My VIN:    01643

Club(s):   (DCF) (DCO) (DCUK)