FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Switch replacement - Python programmer out there?

"Former Delorean owning Guru" Spittybug's Avatar

My VIN:    Formerly 2329

Switch replacement - Python programmer out there?

How's this for a crazy idea:

I'm figuring out how to put a Raspberry Pi computer, multi-relay board and touch screen into the Delorean. I *think* I can learn enough of the hardware side to get this done. I am not a coder however and would take much longer to learn how to make an attractive GUI to control it.

I'm visualizing a GUI with customizable wallpaper on top of which would be buttons for:
    • Doors Lock - on/off
    • Doors Unlock - on/off

This could actually be one toggle button whose screen message changes depending on the state. If already locked, it reads "Unlock" and activates pin X. If unlocked, it reads "Lock" and activates pin Y.

• Driver Window Open - see below
    • Driver Window Close - see below
    • Driver Door Pop - needs to be ~2 second momentary. This is to ensure that the mechanics of the door have enough time to activate and the door begins to open.
    • Passenger Window Open - same
    • Passenger Window Close - same
    • Passenger Door Pop - same
    • Defroster - on/off
    • Auxiliary Lights - on/off
    • Other? - on/off

For the windows, they need to be momentaries (active only while being touched) with one for open and one for closed. Alternatively (and cooler) would be some kind of slider like a volume control. This is the hard one!
    Little niceties might include the ability to adjust the screen brightness or to have a lockout button (so little fingers couldn't play...). In theory one could also build in a lock out so that if the car was moving, the door popper wouldn't work, but that's a bit more hardware work than necessary for V1.