FRAMING JOHN DELOREAN - ON VOD www.framingjohndeloreanfilm.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: A Little Overwhelmed Researching Stereo Upgrades

A Little Overwhelmed Researching Stereo Upgrades

'Use the search function!'

I have, and there is a mountain of great information out there that I'm trying to absorb, but Im a bit overwhelmed by all of it. I've never done any stereo work before, and most of the language is foreign to me, so it's taking me a long time to digest everything and put together a plan of attack. I fear I'll miss a critical piece of information that might be common sense to those with more experience doing this, and cause myself needless frustration and delay.

I'm about to do an interior refurb on my car, and figure I may as well upgrade the stereo and speakers. I'm fully confident in the interior removal and speaker replacement, but am unsure about the stereo itself and the wiring.

Ive been browsing stereos and think I like this one: http://http://www.bestbuy.com/site/cd-built-in-bluetooth-apple-174-ipod-174-ready-in-dash-receiver/3187019.p?id=1219088493570&skuId=3187019&st=catego ryid$abcat0302012&cp=1&lp=5

It has the features I want and seems reasonably priced. I'm in the process of researching speakers. I decided I don't want a high performance requiring amps or subwoofers. I just want to improve what the car has while everything is opened up. I know the stock speaker sizes mean its not going to have a great low range without a sub.

My questions: Will the stereo referenced above work? Will it fit into the stock radio recess? And do I need to/should I run new wire while I'm at it? I've read some suggesting running separate grounds for each speaker. Is there anything else I need to be thinking about? Any other pitfalls to avoid, or am I on the right track?

Thanks!

My VIN:    10904