PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Cold Start

alexwolf1216
07-02-2014, 09:44 PM
Hey everyone. I finally was able to get my car up and running, but it has a hard tme starting when its been sitting. It turns and turns, barely catches, and struggles to start. Purrs like a kitten when it gets up to normal operating range. It will start up perfect after.

I did search the forum, and saw that it may be electrical. Can someone point me to what I should clean/inspect? Please remember, I am a total rookie so answer like you are talking to a 5yr old child :)

Chris 16409
07-02-2014, 09:48 PM
Your cold start valve probably isn't firing. Maybe your thermotime switch is bad.

alexwolf1216
07-02-2014, 09:50 PM
I found the part on the diagram, but I cant tell if its an easy swap or not? Is it something accessible?

Alex

DMCMW Dave
07-02-2014, 09:59 PM
I found the part on the diagram, but I cant tell if its an easy swap or not? Is it something accessible?

Alex

The TTS is screwed into the left side of the water thermostat housing on the water pump. Unplug it. There are two pins.

Set your ohm meter to the lowest scale. When the car is cold, one pin should read grounded (zero ohms) and the other about 30. If either or both read open the switch is bad.

Also pull the blue plug off the cold start injector and inspect the pins in the plug to make sure that they have not backed out of the shell.

djdogbone
07-02-2014, 10:55 PM
Could be the fuel accumulator

kings1527
07-02-2014, 11:48 PM

That's more related to hot start issues. But for whatever reason, after I replaced my accumulator I started having a weird cold start issue if you'd want to call it that. But it catches perfectly everytime if I depress the accelerator about 1/4-1/2 while cranking on a cold start. The funny thing is, that's exactly the way the owner's manual tells you to start the car so I'll write it off as perfectly fine and by design.

NightFlyer
07-02-2014, 11:58 PM