PDA

View Full Version : General buying a delorean cash on the spot

gullwingD
02-25-2016, 11:18 PM
Anyone here have experience with buying a DeLorean with cash from a private seller? I'm a newbie at this. What's the protocol? If I drive away with the car, I'm guessing I have to call my insurance company (in my case state farm) earlier in the day and make sure it's covered? What else do I need? Just a written up bill of sale and the title?

Jimmyvonviggle
02-25-2016, 11:24 PM
Anyone here have experience with buying a DeLorean with cash from a private seller? I'm a newbie at this. What's the protocol? If I drive away with the car, I'm guessing I have to call my insurance company (in my case state farm) earlier in the day and make sure it's covered? What else do I need? Just a written up bill of sale and the title?

If you are going to be buying cash on the spot I recommend bringing a friend. Trust me on this. I once got into a funny situation buying a car.

gullwingD
02-25-2016, 11:27 PM
You think they are going to beat me up? lol They don't know I might be bringing cash, unless they read this forum lol

If you are going to be buying cash on the spot I recommend bringing a friend. Trust me on this. I once got into a funny situation buying a car.

Rich_NYS
02-25-2016, 11:33 PM

I bought 10372 w/cash. I think insurance guidelines vary between states. I'm in NYS w/State Farm for my DD's (God bless you for insuring a classic w/them.) Calling them with the VIN is all I ever need to do to be insured asap. I put 10372 on a trailer and honestly don't recall how (or if) I insured it that day. I insured it w/American Collectors after I got it home.

4728 was bought out of state and insured in advance w/American Collectors Insurance. I think I only needed the VIN and some pics. The deductible was 10% while in transit.

Rich_NYS
02-25-2016, 11:36 PM

+1

I recommend going heavy if possible...

You think they are going to beat me up? lol